Honey Cheese Bread ala Mulligans

Back in days of yore, I worked at this bar called Mulligans. It closed shortly after my friends and I left college, as college bars do from time to time. The good thing is, the two things they made well, honey mustard sauce and honey cheese bread, I learned how to make, so they can live on! If I ever saw the sous chef again I’d kiss her right on the mouth for teaching me the recipes (thank you Miss Loretta!).

I haven’t really formulated a true recipe for their honey mustard sauce because it’s kind of one of those “little bit of this/little bit of that” type things. I’m working on it.

The honey cheese bread though? I’ve perfected that bad boy. So without further adieu…

 

12196229_10207960143264150_7269952793609685178_n

Ingredients:

  • 2 10-12″ hoagie rolls, sliced in half lengthwise*
  • 3 tablespoons of salted butter (if you want to use unsalted, just add about a teaspoon of salt after the butter is melted)
  • 2 heaping tablespoons honey
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese**
  • 1 cup shredded swiss cheese**

*Feel free to try to fancy it up with French bread or Italian bread, but the hoagie roll is what Mulligans used and I think it’s the best.

**You can buy the shredded cheese but don’t buy that fancy really tiny shredded cheese. You want a bigger shred, which is why I prefer to just shred it myself.

Directions:

  1. Melt the butter in the microwave, then add the honey to the melted butter and stir together.
  2. This is the crucial part so pay attention – Spoon the honey butter mixture onto the bread but as you’re doing it, kind of push the spoon into the bread so that the honey butter mixture really soaks into the bread. Then let it sit for a minute or two. This is usually when I shred the cheese, so I know I’m giving the time for that delicious honey butter to really permeate the bread.
  3. Combine your shredded cheeses and top the bread. It’ll look like a lot of cheese but it’s really not once it’s melted. Each slice should have a 1/2 cup of cheese on it and it’ll look pretty piled up.
  4. Place the bread on a cookie sheet because odds are some of that cheese is going to spill over.
  5. I cook it in my toaster oven on toast (level 5) but you can also put it in the oven at 350 for about 3-5 minutes. Just watch it until it looks like the level of toasty you want it. I like mine a little toastier so I leave it in closer to 7 minutes.
  6. Then take it out, slice it up (or don’t) and enjoy! It’s that simple 🙂
Categories: Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.