American Idol – Top 10 – Kelly Can You Handle This?

Well she came back, and she came back with a vengeance! If you didn’t watch, and I don’t know why you’d be reading this if you haven’t, but you should really watch this. And if you already watched it and are just like me who wants to watch it 15 more times? Well, here it is!

I mean, is she the best or what? Were there 10 performances before her because I don’t even remember. All I remember after the show was, well, a lot of liquid emotion coming out of me. It looked a little something like this:

874236sobbing

But I mean seriously how good was that? The best kind of music is the kind that forces you to feel something. Even if that something isn’t happy or joyous. Kelly clearly knows this about me.

And can we seriously talk about how fantastic she was as a judge? I mean you can take any person who has ever been on idol, ever. I’ve never had a contestant I cared more about than Kelly Clarkson, in anything, ever. But you know what they say, you never forget your first. She’s just perfection in every possible way. She has a great voice, she’s been there before. She understands the contestants. She knows what it’s like to be in all of those seats, and she was there before all of them, minus Ryan. I feel like her being there really made me hate all the current judges, but really it just made me long for Simon and Paula. It also made me appreciate Ryan a little more, for some reason. But mostly it just made me wish that Kelly could be on this last season for all future episodes. I mean what a gift those contestants got by getting to hear her thoughts and opinions (and stream of consciousness ramblings). Man, she’s the best.

ryan-lochte-in love

But alas, I can’t talk about Kelly forever, as much as I want to. Maybe I’m just delaying talking about the heartbreak I suffered at the beginning of the episode, when  Jeneve and Jenn were standing there as the top 10 were announced. Hearing Lee and Gianna and Tristan’s names being called just crushed me harder and harder with each name. I wouldn’t say it brought me to tears to see them leave, because really I think they wouldn’t have made it much further than halfway. And if anything, the current 10 makes it pretty obvious as to who will be going home next (I hope). So anyway, let’s talk about the Top 10.

CcHnvGpVAAE7W_w

I decided to only vote for the people I really liked, and not the 8 contestants that I wanted to stay. I figure focusing my voting on only the people I really like will not make me bitter. It won’t but it’s a thought. So tonight, I voted for 6 people. I definitely had 2 favorites though, of those. So let’s get into it.

Sonika Vaid – Bring Me to Life by Evanescence

I know most peoples favorite tonight was La’Porsha – and rightfully so. But for me I think the winner of the night was Sonika and it was for one reason only. Because she really came out of her shell and had a true performance tonight! She actually looked like she was on stage at a show and not just standing in front of people singing for them. I even thought the prom dress she wore worked with the performance (is she trying to set some kind of record for most performances in a prom dress because she’s got to be close at this point). I just liked how different it was from every other performance she’s given to date and for that reason, she gets my top pick/vote for the night.  I hope she keeps it up and I look forward to (hopefully) more surprises when it comes to her song choices.

La’Porsha Renae – Diamonds by Rihanna

The only reason La’Porsha is coming in second is because she’s consistently good. Don’t worry, she’ll probably be first next week. It certainly wouldn’t surprise me. By my account 2 people have covered Diamonds, prior to La’Porsha. I had to look them up because I couldn’t remember after La’Porsha blew me away with that performance. Turned out it was Angie Miller and lady judge, Jennifer Lopez (mostly, technically Harry and Keith were on stage for it too). La’Porsha just killed the performance for me. The Kelly’s (that’s what I’m calling me and Kelly, because we’re a team, obviously) had the exact same reaction to this performance.

laporsha_reaction

Dalton Rapattoni – Hey There Delilah by Plain White T’s

I’ve said a few times before that I think Dalton is really great for song choice and tonight wasn’t that much different. It’s not totally my style but I still appreciated the performance and if I was still in high school, it most definitely would’ve been a panty melter. At my adult age, the real song is the one that does it for me. Dalton’s version took a lot of romance out of the song, but I think that actually worked for him. It just reminded me of this CD I had years ago called Punk Goes Pop, and if I was in college still, I’d be dying for this song to be on that CD. Now there are about 10 of those CD’s and I’m sure this will probably end up there if it hasn’t already. But either way, I enjoyed it.

Olivia Rox – Unconditionally by Katy Perry
MacKenzie Bourg – I See Fire by Ed Sheeran

For both MacKenzie and Olivia, I basically had the same thing to say so I’ll just combine them here.

shrugs

I thought both performances were good. Olivia’s a little more than MacKenzie. But I See Fire is one of my lesser favorite Ed songs (and something tells me we’ll be hearing a lot of him this season), and I’m generally not a Katy Perry fan, but I thought both did well enough to continue in my Top 5 space. They weren’t any kind of stellar performance though.

Avalon Young – Stitches by Shawn Mendes

It’s funny that Kelly said that she made her like songs that she wouldn’t normally like. I agree with the latter part of that statement. I don’t generally like the songs Avalon picks. But at the same time, she doesn’t really do anything to make me like them. She does things that make me like her though, and isn’t that just as important? I also really liked her make up tonight and I’m ready to take bets on whether or not they get her into a dress by the end of the season. I also wonder if she’s ever sung a ballad to the judges. She looks like she could harness a lot of emotion in her voice and I’d love to see that. But not a slow R&B song. I need something with emotions that I can relate to. Maybe a Kelly Clarkson song? haha.

So that’s everyone I voted for. I thought about voting for Trent Harmon but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. His cover of Like I Can was not his best performance. Something was just off about the whole thing. Something tells me he’ll still make it through because there were still 3 performances that were most definitely worse than him… but I couldn’t in good conscience vote for him when I just didn’t find it vocally appealing.

As for the final 3, Lee JeanValJean, Gianna Isabella and Tristan MacIntosh, if I could vote 3 off, I probably would. But at least having 3 people makes me feel comfortable that the two going home are in this group and I won’t be heartbroken until next week (I hope). The thing about all 3 of these people that I didn’t like, is the same thing that JLo said America seems to love – their fifteeness.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-24875-1375904407-17_preview

And with that I’m done, and ready for next week! And in case you’re wondering america’s opinion of tonights performance, here’s the rankings I saw, hot off the tvline presses (glad to see the Kelly’s and America are on the same wavelength):

IMG_0821

Categories: American Idol, Television, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

