American Idol – Room With a New American Idol

I don’t know about you but as soon as I saw who was in each room. I mean, I definitely recognize one of these girls as the one who auditioned with the guy… screams

But when you really looked at the breakdown of talent in the 3 rooms, it was pretty easy to see that Room 2 was probably on the way out… Take a look for yourself. I even highlighted the ones I thought were talented 🙂

room 1

roop 2

room 3

If you ask me, the next American Idol was in Room 3. I mean, there was a solid pool of talent there! Look at all those red arrows! I mean, if I have to accept Michelle Marie in order to have  the rest of contestants in room 3 be safe, it’s a price I’m willing to pay.

So with that lets talk about favorites of the night (in order of appearance)! Spoiler alert, they’re all ladies 🙂

Olivia Rox – Original Song “Crazy Love”

For your choice to debut a new song

SeriousClapping

(same for you Mackenzie Bourg – and truth be told, I thought your song was better). Good call to do it on this night. Break out the originality a little further into the competition, when you’re looking for one more wow. Not only that though. Her voice is still solid and this being the 3rd time performing on tv, I think she’s proving that she is consistent, which is really important.

Sonkia Vaid – One Last Time by Ariana Grande
Jessica Cabral – Up to the Mountain by Patty Griffin 

I put these two girls together because they just have the most beautiful voices of this competition. I will say that during Sonkia’s performance, the background singer was a little distracting but I think overall, her voice showed through and I think she’ll be fine. I think they probably both need a little help with the actual performance part of their jobs, but they’ve got the voice thing down. Though lack of ability to perform does eventually make me hate contestants (not as much as poor song choice) so they probably should get to working on that before the live shows.

Jenn Blosil – True Colors by Cyndi Lauper

Oh my sweet flower, Jenn. What a perfect song choice. I hope she’s not having a breakdown because I really like her. And she has no need to be that sad because her performance, of what I heard, was fantastic! Honestly I thought I’d just be happy she made it through group night, because unique flowers like Jenn don’t always… but at this point I really want her to go further. I need to see her sing live! Come on Idol fans! Let’s make sure Jenn gets to the live shows and stays there!

loveyou

And now for a few comments about the remaining contestants we saw:

Stephaney Negrente – Set Fire to the Rain I think this girl has a really good voice, but when she sings, she sounds like she had a problem with saying the letter R. It was like “I set fiyah to the wain”. Was that just me hearing that?

Thomas Stringfellow – A Thousand  Years Ah yes, Newsies guy… This was my least favorite male performance of the night, but his hipster vibes gave me a strong feeling he’d be safe. He just reminds me of a younger Alex Preston. And where the hell is he, nowadays?

Avalon Young – One Last Time I don’t feel like I really got to hear her performance but for a little snippet, but I’d like to believe it was solid. The last note was a little rough though. Hoping it was a fluke and you’ll be back to belting shortly.
One Last Time by Ariana Grande – She thought she could have done better, although the little snip seemed fine!

John Wayne Schulz (sans hat) – John 3:16 John, sweet John. I know you didn’t make it through. And I hate that (I think) an idol producer stole his hat, so that he wouldn’t wear it. But seriously though – It’s crazy how much younger and hotter he looks without the hat. It’s a totally different look. Do I think he should try singing without it more often?

hint yes

Tristan McIntosh – What Hurts the Most Crying because of her emotional connection… really? This early in the season? Seemed a little contrived to me. Sure you didn’t just figure out a story? Maybe she should’ve sung “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”? How’s that for a life lesson? Man how long can I go without finishing a sentence with a question mark? haha.

Mackenzie Bourg – Original Song “Roses” Briefly mentioned him above but he should know, he was the only guy I really liked tonight. I mean I liked John Wayne, sexually, but I liked Mackenzie, musically. Sure Lee and Thomas were fine, but Mackenzie was where it’s at.

Shelbie Z – Alone Listen, truth be told, I just can’t decide if I like her. It’s mostly that I know she’s already tried out for The Voice. I just think that if you made it a certain distance in one show and didn’t make it, what makes you think you’re going to make it on this one? I know that’s mean, and she has a voice like a mack truck so I do think she deserves to be where she is at this point, I just don’t know how much further I want to see her go. We’ll see. She could always win me over!

 

 

Kory Wheeler – Fix You Love this song, do not like Kory Wheeler. Darren Criss still has the best version of this song.

Well that just lead to a “Glee Music” shame spiral. Who am I kidding? There’s no shame in my Glee game. haha.

James VIII – Wicked Game Oh that guy is still here!

Lee Jean – Stitches Ok well… Lee is cute. He’s pretty good, but I still feel like he’s really young. I mean he’s 3 years younger than Sarah. I think he’s full of potential, I just wish he was a year or two older.

Sara Sturm – Somewhere Only We Know Sara is fine. She does have a good voice, but compared to the competition, I don’t see her in a Top 5 situation. I could see her Top 24 though. I if I hadn’t seen her pre-performance, I would’ve guessed she was one of the people with mono laryngitis

Emily Brooke – What Hurts the Most Great voice. She gets better every time I hear her. I didn’t even notice the key problems. Also I loved her dress.

Malie Delgado – Stitches / Mionne Dynasty – Chains (Laryngitis girls)
Have we seen either of these girls, to date? They were both fine through their respective illnesses that aren’t mono. Something tells me this will be the last time we’ll see these two…

Joshua Wicker – 1000 years  I didn’t really remember this guy was still on the show, and his performance wasn’t anything that special, but I was sad seeing him say goodbye as a Room 2-er. He seems like a real good guy.

CJ Johnson – Go Your Own Way Honestly, CJ should’ve been in my Top. I think he would’ve probably been my 5th. I just liked the enthusiasm he brought to the performance. I would’ve liked to see more of it.

Jeneve Mitchell – Danny’s Song Oh Jeneve… I really really wanted you to be in my Top 5 again… but this was truly not your best performance. I really hope that this was just a minor set back and you’re good enough and that’s why the judges kept you – because they know this. I’m still rooting for you, Jeneve!

Dalton Rapattoni – Hopelessly Devoted to You I know he was saying group night was tough on him but dude, I’ll tell you what I told Tristan… man up. Life is hard. The music industry is hard. Get used to it. I did really like the song choice because we all know I love a song from a show, especially a show I just watched live! To be honest, I liked Sandra Dee a lot more.

There were definitely some people I missed seeing *cough cough* La’Porsha *cough cough* but it’s nice to see they’re still through so we’ll hopefully see them one more time tonight (or next week, whatever).

Categories: American Idol, Television | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

