American Idol – The Final Auditions

You know it’s funny. I was thinking about how this last audition day would be. Would they try to bring back some of the OG audition contestants? The traditional ones you used to see every year. Like, spaced out hippy chick, person who doesn’t speak english, bikini girl… you know the likes. I also wondered if any old judges would come back for the final round of voting. so we could all reminisce about days of yore?

swoon2

But I guess I was the only one with those kinds of dreams. Because this was basically like any audition the last 3 seasons, minus the judges talking about how it was the last one at the end of the episode – which to me really didn’t even sound all that genuine. Sometimes I wish they’d just kept the show with the original judges. To me the only one who really should be allowed to reminisce about Idol days of yore, is the one who’s been there through it all – Mr. Ryan Seacrest. And we didn’t even get to hear the guy talk about his time (thankfully he’s actually been doing some interviews so I have kind of heard his thoughts on the matter).

The one thing I really did like this episode, was truly how much talent there was. If I thought there was a lot last night, tonight just doubled down. I wouldn’t say that I think everyone will make it through, by any means – but I think some of the ones who did will most certainly be in the Top 24. At least, they better. Because I am S-M-I-T-T-E-N. I did have a clear Top 4 though (couldn’t narrow it down to 3). So, without further adieu, lets talk about those folks!

Jessica Cabral – 21 year old from Worcester, MA
Song: Brand New Me 

Ah Jessica, my A1 from Day1. As in, from the first time I saw you, even though you were the first contestant, I knew you’d be my favorite from the night. And I really hope Harry didn’t jinx her by saying that he’d be shocked if she didn’t make it VERY FAR. Because if she doesn’t make it very far, Harry…

your fault

Zach Person – 18 year old from Houston, TX
Song: Next-Door Neighbor Blues

I’ll just mention that as per my last post, my next 3 were a tie. I couldn’t decide who I like more. To be honest, my next 4 were kind of a tie. I just liked different things about all of them. As for Zach, well I’ve always had a thing for Zachs. haha. But seriously, his musicality was great. He made me want to pay attention to his performance and I can always appreciate that. I don’t know how far he’ll go, but I’m glad I got the opportunity to see him.

Manny Torres – 20 year old from Flushing, MI (I think?)
Song: This Love

Ok so I really didn’t think I was going to like Manny. His pre-interview stuff was a little too much for me. But he was entertaining. And I really loved his performance of This Love. It was pretty original and he sang very well so I knew he’d have to be in my Top 3. Why not book end the first contestant and the last, right?

Avalon Young – 21 year old from San Diego, CA
Song: XO (Beyonce) 

Ok here’s the thing with Avalon – was I the only one that saw the Impending “She’s All That” theme? You know, where the girl who no one notices, the tom boy or the nerd, whatever, gets found by a person who just changes a few things about her, takes off her glasses, dresses her up a little bit and then bam, she’s a bombshell whose getting everything she ever wanted. Trust me, it’s a common movie theme. The thing with these movies though is that secretly the girl was pretty the whole time and filled with talent but no one saw it because she had glasses and overalls on. Come on people, see through it! But anyway, I do hope this happens for Avalon, without having to get the makeover, because I liked her tomboy looks. But something tells me Idol is going to have a field day with this one. I just hope it ends well for all parties, because I think Avalon has tons of talent and potential.

And an honorable mention will go to 15 year old Lillian Glanton. Her voice was fine but what I really liked was her song! That’s the only reason I don’t think she should really be in my Top 5. So I only had a Top 4 with Lil as an HM. But her song was great. And I think if you sing well enough as a really good song writer, you’ll get your message out there. I definitely think Lillian is going places!

And now for a few final thoughts.

  1. How many times DO you think Ryan was hit in all those 15 years? Like, how many times has he been hit/attacked/tackled? I bet it’s a lot. More than the average job. Shockingly, this was the only even remotely close picture when I googled “Ryan Seacrest Attacked”

091911_kathyryankiss

Way to go Kathy Griffin. It also reminded me of this, though:

cohenseacrest_featured_photo_gallery

  1. I loved Harrys comment about the entertainment business when that chick with the star dress came in. He said “where else are you going to get a job interview dressed like that?” (ironically too – I think – was that she didn’t “get the job”) but man, as someone that has sat on her fair share of interview panels, it had me thinking how great interviews would be if they were more like idol auditions, come in, tell me a little bit about yourself, and then sing a little number to prove you’re worthy of this job. A girl can dream. I should also be glad interviews aren’t like that because I cannot sing.
  2.  To a one, Mr. Brian Dale Brown – please please please, don’t ever do that Scooby Doo impression again. Harry was better and he just gave it a try (bad sign). I was fine that they let him through to be auditioned by the judges…

liar

Fine. I was lying. He was just too much schtick. Sorry Brian. I do appreciate your love for the show and am happy you finally got in front of a judge, but that is where my happiness for you ends.

And there we have it… moving on into the world of Hollywood Week, Group Night and all that other fun stuff. Feeling pumped!

Categories: American Idol, Television, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

