American Idol – Billboard Night Predictions

Hi all! So, another Wednesday is upon us and American Idol is all new tonight with Billboard’s Hot 100 as the theme I thought the theme was #1 songs, and so I did some research about all the Billboard #1 songs – it’s no short list. There have been over 1,000 #1 songs since they started the poll in 1958, coincidentally the year my mom was born! In fact, it was started the exact WEEK she was born and the first #1 song was called Poor Little Fool by Ricky Nelson. Also, since I was already checking it out, Chicago’s Hard to Say I’m Sorry was #1 when I was born, many years later.

There are actually a lot of interesting facts about the Hot 100, many of which you’ll probably hear tonight. For example, Boyz II Men and  Mariah Carey’s One Sweet Day has the longest consecutive run in first place with 16 weeks! There have been only 22 artists to have a song debut at #1. I honestly thought there would be way more than that! And an American Idol holds the record for biggest/quickest climb to #1. Kelly Clarksons My Life Would Suck Without You went from 97th to 1st from one week to the next! And many of the Idols winning songs, have been #1 on the charts as well (Kelly, Carrie and Clay Aiken if you’ll count him even though he wasn’t a winner)! If you love trivia, here’s a great link for you to check out all the fun stats!  Let me just say that the Bee Gees were like, SUPER popular in their heyday. I mean, great band, I’m just a little surprised at just how well they did.

james-van-der-beek-clapping-gif-dawson-b7279382-sz624x350-animate1_zpse885157d

Anyway, as is the usshhzzz (how do you spell that? the abbreviated word for usually? ush? yoush? does it matter?) I saw all the songs getting sung tonight. The good thing is that I didn’t see who’s singing them. This is actually my favorite. I love knowing what’s going to be sung and then guessing who is going to sing it. They haven’t done this in like, 2 years so it’s nice to see they did it tonight! So, here are the list of songs we get to hear:

“Hey Ya!” – Outkast
“Poker Face” – Lady Gaga
“Set Fire To The Rain” – Adele
“Make It Rain” – Ed Sheeran
“Stay” – Rihanna
“Wrecking Ball” – Miley Cyrus
“Teenage Dream” – Katy Perry
“Latch” – Disclosure

My issue with the list – I thought it was supposed to be #1 songs, not just songs ON the list!

Top07 - FingerWag Seinfeld

I can say for certain that these songs would be ones I’ve heard if they’ve been #1 on the hot 100 list. I knew every single Hot 100 song until I was looking around 1975… and even back to 1958 I bet there were only a handful of songs I’d never heard. I googled the ones that didn’t look familiar and I had heard most of them at some point. So I did a quick Wiki search of the songs I was relatively sure weren’t a #1 song.

Make it Rain by Ed Sheeran – the highest it got was #34 and Latch by someone called Disclosure (although f/ Sam Smith who I do know), peaked at #28! Then I just decided to look them all up and the only other “not #1” was Stay by Rihanna. Which I should’ve known. I mean, if you wanted to sing Rihanna, she has #1 songs on there. Rihanna has had 9 singles reach #1 and she was featured on 3 songs that did. I mean come on. But I digress. Why did you have to pick Stay? It peaked at #13 so was it really that great a song? Do Lisa Loeb’s Stay! That at least was a #1 song!

I listened to the two songs I’d never heard – Latch and Make it Rain. Now there are some guys that should have a #1 single by now! What is America doing with themselves, anyway? Ok sorry, tangent there… After listening to both, I’m relatively certain Rayvon will sing Latch. He’s got a Sam Smith quality about him that I’m sure will shine (even if he does go home tonight). As for the Ed Sheeran one, I’d like to believe it’s Clark, but it could definitely be Nick. I think Clark could make it sound even better than the almost techno/autotuned version I heard on YouTube. Why on earth would you autotune Ed Sheeran’s voice? I don’t get it? Anyway, I think Clark’s got this angsty gem all day!

As for the obvious song choices well, I wouldn’t say any of them were totally obvious. Jax – the queen of the twitter reveal – already said she’s singing Gaga so obviously Poker Face is her song. I’m totally cool with this and based on the numerous covers, I think she’ll do great. May I suggest though,

Top07 - IdinaRachel

The Rachel Berry/Idina Menzel version.

I mean, her voice is a more exaggerated version of Rachels voice already so I think it would work perfectly (she doesn’t even come close to Idina). I also have to believe that Qaasim is doing Hey Ya. It just makes sense. And he’s not really good at not picking the obvious song choice. Good song choice for him though. Doesn’t really involve singing so that will probably help him (although ideally he’ll be in the bottom 2 tonight).

That leaves us with Adele, Rihanna, Miley and Katy. And yet the remaining contestants are Joey, Tyanna, Nick, Quentin. Quentin has already covered Adele so I’m doubtful he’ll do Set Fire to the Rain, but I mean, I’d be TOTALLY fine with it if he did.  Something tells me he’s going to be covering the Rihanna song though. It’s got a good angst to it that Quentin just DOES. Yeah. I’m gonna need him to do Stay. But then who would sing Adele? Based on the remaining contestants I’d have to guess Tyanna, but why do I feel like she’s going to sing Teenage Dream? I just don’t see Nick singing it and I see Joey doing Wrecking Ball. I hope she goes deep with it to. I’m gonna need her to or she could be out with yesterdays leftovers. She was good last week but I’m still remembering that performance from two weeks ago and I need to forget that. Ok so we have Quentin singing Stay, Joey singing Wrecking Ball. That leaves either Tyanna or Nick singing Set Fire to the Rain and Teenage Dream.  I’m gonna go Tyanna singing Katy and Nick singing Adele… but that doesn’t sit well with me.

So to recap, I’m guessing the night will looks like this –

QAASIM MIDDLETON – “Hey Ya!” – Outkast
JAX – “Poker Face” – Lady Gaga
NICK FRADIANI – “Set Fire To The Rain” – Adele
CLARK BECKHAM – “Make It Rain” – Ed Sheeran
QUENTIN ALEXANDER – “Stay” – Rihanna
JOEY COOK – “Wrecking Ball” – Miley Cyrus
TYANNA JONES – “Teenage Dream” – Katy Perry
RAYVON OWEN – “Latch” – Disclosure

Oh and just for shits and giggles, this came up while I was looking up something about Wrecking Ball and I just want everyone to relive this moment in history because I could watch this guy REGULARLY! DO MORE OF THESE, DUDE! Call Me Maybe was totes my favorite!

I guess we’ll see 🙂 Hope everyone enjoys the episode tonight!

Categories: American Idol, Television | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

