American Idol – Top 07 Saboteurs

So when I heard it was “other contestants choice” on Idol this week, I read it in a couple of ways. Was it going to be:

a) Songs the Contestants would like to hear another Contestant would sing?
b) Songs that might be difficult for another Contestant to sing, so let’s challenge them!
c) Songs that will hopefully boot another Contestant out of the competition?

Here’s the thing. I watch a lot of reality TV competitions. Some where the participants are chummy (Top Chef All Stars), some where clear cliques form (Project Runway, Survivor) and then there are the ones where shit is CUT.THROAT (Top Chef, Real Housewives of Anything, etc). Personally, I like the latter. It makes for better tv. No one likes reality shows where everyone gets along. That’s why the Real World lasted as long as it did! Unfortunately though, for this season of Idol – these kids are straight up chummy. Dare I say real life pals! There doesn’t really seem to be any bad blood.

As much as I’d loooooooooooove to see Jena picking some Rihanna song for Dexter, or Alex pick something like Christina Aguilera for CJ, it just isn’t going to happen. I’m not that lucky. Why would they dare make the show that interesting? Not this season folks. I mean, is it just me or are the song selections a bit of an unoriginal snoozefest this season?

done with you

Not to mention, from what I hear, everyone was allowed to pick a song, and the contestant could pick from the list of 6. So, you know even if 1 person was mean, it’s only 1 among 5 other choices. If you ask me, the Idol producers could learn a thing or two from Andy Cohen.

So anyway, there’s no point in guessing what people picked for each other because if I did, I’d only wind up disappointing myself…

stressful evening

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

