Picking the The Oh-Kneed-Ers

And the theme night of the masses was chosen to be:

one-hit-wonders-iceman

Obviously, it was one of my suggestions. And Michael Slezak’s, And Entertainment Weekly. And probably millions of people around the world, hence the pick. I’m good with it. As long as no one sings the Macarena. Or any other “dance” for that matter #GanghamStyleI’mLookingAtYou. I believe that’s probably doubtful. I’m just glad they picked a theme where it isn’t specific to a single singer/type of music. One Hit Wonders is practically as broad as Contestants Choice (which is the other theme of the night). I won’t pretend to guess what the Contestant Choices will be since it’s way too broad of a selection but let’s look through what I think they should sing for One Hit Wonders because that’s a theme I can get behind!

Also, everytime I write One Hit Wonders I think of the bad, The Wonders from That Thing You Do and it always makes me want to write “Oneders” (pronounced Oh-kneed-ers. haha). Let’s just call this night the Oh-kneed-ers shall we?

I checked a couple of expert sources to figure out songs that qualify as One Hit Wonders: Thisthis and this. And this by accident, but it looks promising. I like the Wikipedia version the most because it gives me a few lists of the greatest One Hit Wonders. The problem is, the greatest “One Hit Wonder” songs, they’re kind of terrible. Especially for a singing competition. Seriously, look at some of these…

OHW

That’s practically a list of songs I do NOT want to hear sung.

I also like how the breakdown their definition which I think is the definition that Idol should use if they didn’t just create their own list and have the contestants pick from it, which I think is obviously what happens. The definition in general does bother me. For one, can you say someone is a one hit wonder when they’re relatively recent and maybe just haven’t released anything new? Wikipedia’s one hit wonders go up to 2012. I think that’s a little unfair to some extent. I mean really, how are The Wanted, a one hit wonder? Secondly, if I may bitch for a second at these “one hit wonder” creators – Blues Traveler is NOT a One Hit Wonder. As if. I have like, 5 of their cds and they’re full of hits. That also goes for the Mighty Mighty Bosstones. I don’t have any of their cd’s but I feel like they at least had 2-3 solid hits, no? And Weezer!! How the EF- do they have Weezer in a list of One Hit Wonders??? And for the song Beverly Hills no less? They had like, 10 hits before that song was even released. I’m starting to get offended by Wikipedia.

Other random thought – would they let the girls (any of them) sing I Touch Myself in honor of the recently deceased lead singer of the Divinyls?

Anyway, I’m using the multiple lists of Wikipedia to decide what I want all the contestants to sing, and I’m listing as many as I want to. I just have too many good ideas. I couldn’t be stopped:

Amber Holcomb

1. “Whip My Hair” by Willow Smith
Wouldn’t it be fun to see Amber sing this? I know it’s more rap but she gives me kind of a
fancier Willow Smith vibe. Maybe she could mix it up or something? Also, while I’m
suggesting this as a song, you all should watch this.

2. “Pumped Up Kicks” by Foster the People
While I don’t think they’re one hit, Wikipedia says they are. And Amber can kind of
rock a high note, and this would just be so out of her frame of reference that
I think it would really shock people if she could sing it well, and the risk could
really pay off. Especially with all the people sick of her picking songs they don’t know.

3. “You Gotta Be” by Des’ree
I think I recommended this for someone else, or maybe for Amber, back a week or
two ago. I think it’s a good song though and she fills the One Hit Wonder requirement.

Angie Miller

1. Torn by Natalie Imbruglia.
I just feel like this is the kind of singer Angie is. I could see her using the piano maybe,
too. She just seems to fit with that.

2. Bulletproof by La Roux.
I really like this song for Angie. I was looking through the newer lists of Oh-kneed-ers and as soon
as I saw this I was just like, Angie! Yes!

3. Boston by Augustana
I picked this because of the piano and the angsty singing, and she can give more
props to Boston which doesn’t hurt anything. Also it’s a great song and I hope this group
isn’t a one hit wonder.

Just please do NOT sing What if God was One of Us. If she’s gonna go religious
one hit wonder what about that Lifehouse song? Hanging By a Moment?
I think that’s what it’s called. They didn’t have more than a hit, did they?
If they did I don’t remember it.

Candice Glover

1. Blackstreet – No Diggity.
Yes. Wouldn’t this be so great? I feel like she has the PERFECT voice for this!! I picked this because of this (if you must, ff to 1:35):

2. “Dog Days are Over” by Florence and the Machine
Since Wikipedia is somewhat ridiculous and for whatever reason, thinks Florence and the Machine
are One Hit Wonders (blasphemy), she’d kill  this one too. Really I just want her to sing a BIG
song and I feel like this is big enough for her. And it’s like, fast-er without being a fast song.

3. “Criminal” by Fiona Apple
Because I mean, come on. I just feel like she has the voice for this.
Ok, ok. She has the voice for everything.

**I also LOVE Michael Slezak’s idea of her singing Crazy by Gnarls Barlkey (but I have to acknowledge that it’s his idea, not mine)**

Kree Harrison

1. “Walking in Memphis” by Marc Cohn
This is one of the more classic One Hit Wonders, and Kree likes a classic so I could definitely
see her singing this. It’s probably my top choice for her. She probably knows what it feels
like Walking in Memphis, right?

2. “Don’t Know Why” by Norah Jones
I see a lot of Norah Jones in Kree. If she wanted to step out of Country a bit, I feel
like this would be a good way to veer without going too out of her comfort zone.
Although, why this song is under the One Hitters is beyond me because I don’t even
think this was her most popular song. Wouldn’t “Come Away With Me” be more popular?
either way, it’s on the list so it’s on my list 🙂

3. “One Voice” by Billy Gilman
I really like the softness and innocence of this, but with a hint of belting
hiding within. I saw this kid sing live at the 9/11 Michael Jackson Tribute show
and he COMPLETELY stole the show singing this accapella. So obviously,
I think Kree could do this too.

4. “Chasing Cars” by Snow Patrol
Again this is just to shake things up a little bit. I just like picking
songs for Kree to sing 🙂

Oh and in case you were wondering, here are Michael Slezak and MJ’s Big Blog ideas. Both have some good suggestions. And they picked “Contestant’s Choice” also.

 

 

Categories: American Idol, Television, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

