Top 05 – It’s a Girl

AMERICAN IDOL: Lazaro Arbos. CR: Michael Becker / FOX. Copyright: FOX.

I’m not going to lie. For a lot of reasons, I feel a LOT of joy today. It may be rainy, I may’ve spent over an hour in traffic this morning, but all is right with the world.

Let’s talk about all the great things that happened last night, shall we?

1. Lazaro is off American Idol

2. I really liked all the ideas the
world is coming up with for the
Idol Theme contest!

3. The Orioles beat the Red Sox

4. My fnephew accurately predicted
the birth of his brother
(not to mention predicting that he’d
be having a brother in the first place).
I’m going to ask him what my lottery
ticket numbers are ASAP!

5. And most importantly, my beautiful
friend for life, Jessie and her hubs Rob
had a beautiful baby boy last night!
Congratulations love!!
Can’t wait to meet my newest fnephew!

I mean seriously. Ok, I realize only two of those is Idol related. But they’re all important. And all worth mentioning! I seriously can’t wait to see all the millions of pictures that I’m sure Jess will post (*that she better post since I live like, a million hours away from her and can’t visit. Yes, pity me. Or purchase my plane tickets. Your choice).

Ok so let’s talk about last night briefly. I knew as soon as they did the groups that Laz and Amber were in the bottom. The groups were pretty much perfect in my personal opinion. I did think that Kree and Candice were the Tops (and always will be in my Top 02). And while I probably would’ve switched Janelle and Amber, I was ok with what the world picked. Especially since Lazaro was finally out.

Remember when Jessica Sanchez was voted out and the judges didn’t even let her sing and just gave her the save? I kind of thought they’d do the same thing with Laz but opposite – Seriously dawg, no singing necessary. We aren’t saving your ass. Alas, they did not do that, but it’s ok. I’m fine with a swan song, especially when I know it’s the last time I’ll ever have to listen to him. I thought Jimmy put his critique of Lazaro perfectly – “Last night’s performance hit me like an ambien milkshake.” hahaha. And that is why I love Jimmy. Oh and also when this little exchange happened:

Jimmy: If I had to chart him, I’d put him 10.
Person off camera: Jimmy, there’s only 6 performers left.
Jimmy: Yeah, I know.

I’d still put him in 10th place too. Really, I wish that it wasn’t Paul that had been the one needing the Jimmy vote when it came down to picking the Top 10. I wish it had been Laz because I genuinely think that Jimmy would’ve vetoed that kid in a hot second! Seriously though, seeing American finally do the right thing? Well, at my house it looked a little something like this…

dance florence

Another thing I loved about the night was Kelly Clarksons clear infatuation with Mariah Carey. Is she not the most adorable fan? God I love Kelly Clarkson. OG Idol for sure! I mean, she’s the reason I’ve stuck with this show, more than anything else. I want the next Kelly Clarkson experience. I just love her. Although her eye shadow was painfully terrible and hard to look at, her singing was just as impeccable as ever!

Ok now I really wanna talk about the #ATTIdolTheme contest. What a great list of ideas! In case you missed it the possibilities are as follows:

theme

I’d seen most of the suggestions. The only one I missed was “Dedicated to Someone” which I do think is a really sweet idea. I’d be happy with any of these themes and I only hope that the Producers remember that these are the type of things that the world wants to see – not your ridiculous “Bacharach/David Songbook” or “Motown” theme nights. Please remember that Nigel!

Finally, I forgot to upload the winners list for this week but I promise to do it as soon as I get home from work! If I recall correctly the winners for the week were Susan, Jessie and Rob, in that order. I’ll let you know as soon as I can though, for sure!

**UPDATE** Here are the scores for the week 🙂

Screen shot 2013-04-11 at 10.13.12 PM

And just to remind folks what peoples picks are, they look a little something like this:

Screen shot 2013-04-11 at 10.13.54 PM

Next Week – Top 05 Theme

I’m already excited for next weeks theme – Songs from the Year You Were Born (yey!!!!) and Diva’s. How freaking appropriate.

Oh and in case you were wondering, or just wanting to feel really old, here are the years all the contestants were born… (who would’ve thought Janelle and Candice were born in the same year?)

Amber Holcomb – 1994

Angela Miller – 1994

Candice Glover – 1989

Janelle Arthur – 1989

Kree Harrison – 1990

Categories: American Idol, Television | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

