Guessing the Lennon/McCartney Songbook

Well, so much for original theme ideas. Tonight, the Top 9 bring us – The Lennon/McCartney Songbook!

The-Beatles-the-beatles-10561045-1600-1200

The Lennon/McCartney Songbook is a pretty famous in the Idol  repertoire. There are hundreds of songs to choose from which is always nice for a theme, and they wrote a lot of songs, not just for themselves, so the range of songs they have to choose from is also varied. It’s not my favorite theme, because “specific singer/songwriter” themes never are. That being said, this is certainly one that has yielded some amazing performances.

While I know it’s hard to decide on songs I want each of the singers to sing this week, there are also ones that I feel they shouldn’t even attempt. Case in point:

All I have to say is that if you don’t tear up, you don’t have a heart. It’s one of my favorite versions of this song ever. Like, seriously, ever. Like Kelly’s “A Moment Like This,” I just think this one isn’t one that should be attempted anymore. I should also mention, it’s been sung 5 times as it is, so isn’t that enough, anyway? Something tells me we’ll be hearing it though, by a one Lazaro Arbos. I can’t imagine him doing better than Archie though so if he’s smart, he’ll steer clear.

I also don’t think anyone should sing “Come Together” for a multitude of reasons but mostly because of this one:

Mostly for the didgeridoo I’m not gonna lie. I think the Carly Smithson version might’ve actually been better. Either way, that’s two good performances which means we don’t need anymore. I never realized how weird these lyrics were until we got the Beatles Rock Band. What a bizarre song!

I wasn’t actually sure what would be considered the “Lennon/McCartney Songbook” besides what’s been sung on Idol. If you check Wikipedia, this is the list:

1. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
2. Let It Be – Aretha Franklin
3. Here There And Everywhere – Emmylou Harris
4. Anytime At All – Nils Lofgren
5. Day Tripper – Otis Redding
6. With A Little Help From My Friends
7. Hey Jude – Wilson Pickett
8. In My Life – Judy Collins
9. I Call Your Name – Mamas And The Papas
10. Got To Get You Into My Life
11. Tomorrow Never Knows – Monsoon
12. Get Back – Ike & Tina Turner
13. I Saw Him Standing There – Tiffany
14. Please Please Me – Flamin’ Groovies
15. Things We Said Today – Cliff Richard
16. Nowhere Man – Three Good Reasons
17. I’ve Just Seen A Face
18. From Me To You – Bobby McFerrin
19. She Came In Through The Back Door
20. It’s For You – Three Dog Night
21. Step Inside Love – Cilla Black
22. Bad To Me – Billy J. Kramer & The Dakotas
23. Yesterday – Marianne Faithfull
24. You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away

It shocks me that songs like Yesterday and Hey Jude have only been sung a single time. They seem like some really popular choices but maybe it falls under that whole “too familiar, my version might not be as good” category. And really, they’re right. It’s hard to mess with songs that people love unless you sing it exactly like the original singer and as good as the original singer. In case you were wondering what songs have been sung by the Idol performers already, I made a list for that too, because I love you.

Untitled

So with that information at hand, I’ve compiled my list of who I want to sing what. Let’s get the party started! I made most of my list after finding a Top 50 Beatles Cover playlist. It helps to hear other people singing Beatles songs to decide what people should sing.  Looking at this list just makes me really miss having a rocker this season. I feel like there’s usually at least one! Not this year unfortunately.

Amber Holcomb – Ok Amber was seriously the hardest to pick. I just don’t know who she is and she picks terrible songs so it’s hard for me to decide what I think she should sing to like, make me like her. I’m just going to take a pass and hope she sings something well. I’m just entirely too ambivalent about her.

Angie Miller – Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds – I really want to see someone sing Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds. It’s one of my favorite Beatles songs and no one has tried it on Idol and Angie is an original so she’d be perfect for it. Not to mention she can sing it at the piano again! Since it’s about drug use she probably won’t, but that’s my vote (and coincidentally, it’s Michael Slezak’s too! Twins!). Anyway, if she doesn’t want to sing it, my second recommendation is Across the Universe (which could also be done at the piano – hint hint Angie). Angie even gives me a bit of a Fiona Apple vibe if Fiona Apple was less dirty minded, and less dirty in general. haha.

Burnell Taylor – Eleanor Rigby – I saw an Aretha Franklin cover of this and I just think it could be good for him. If he doesn’t do it, I hope Candice does. I think it’s got a good beat and I like the soul Aretha gives it. I think Burnell could give it that, too. I also found an Al Green cover singing I Wanna Hold Your Hand that I thought could be fun too.

Candice Glover – Come Together – I know, I said I didn’t want anyone else singing it. But Candice just sings songs others have rocked, so well. So maybe this is another chance to do that? Also I just want to see her singing something upbeat and with a good rock/yell to it. I could also see Hard Days Night or She’s a Woman.

Devin Valez – Strawberry Fields Forever – Difficult song genre for Devin and I could see him singing one of their typical ballads but in looking up covers of Beatles song, I found Ben Harper singing this song, and I think Devin could pull this off. I doubt he will, but I’d love to see him try.

Janelle Arthur – For No One – So, Emmy Lou Harris does a cover of this. I’m not gonna lie, I really see this as another great cover for Kree but she can’t have all the versions, so I threw this bone at Janelle. I’d still be ok to see Kree sing it though, I’m not gonna lie.

Kree Harrison – Oh Darlin’ – I’d love to see this along the same lines of the cover that Florence and the Machine did that I also found on YouTube. Also I found a version of “Real Love” that Regina Spektor did on the Instant Karma, Save Darfur CD that I think Kree could sing really well except that her voice doesn’t seem as high as Regina’s so maybe not.

Lazaro Arbos – Golden Slumbers – I’ve never heard this song but I found a version of Ben Folds singing this and it was so lovely. It’s from the soundtrack for I Am Sam and I mean, I do love Ben Folds but this version is just simply magical. I think Laz could do some great things with this song if he decides to be more original this week.

Paul JolleyBlackbird – There are actually a lot of songs though, that I could see Paul singing. Carly Smithson sang it in her season and it was pretty good so he would have that to contend with, but he’s so different from her, and I think it would be a good choice for him. I like the low-key-ness of it. I could also see him rocking some Across the Universe. I know I said I wanted this one for Angie but I could also see Paul doing a good job with it.

Here’s what Mr. Slezak thinks everyone should sing! Here’s hoping we’re both more accurate than last week!

Candice Glover: The Beatles’ “Got to Get You Into My Life” or The Beatles’ “Revolution

Janelle Arthur: The Beatles’ “All My Loving

Kree Harrison: John Lennon’s “Just Like Starting Over” or The Beatles’ “I Am the Walrus

Amber Holcomb: The Beatles’ “Lady Madonna

Angie Miller: The Beatles’ “Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds

Lazaro Arbos: Paul McCartney’s “My Love

Burnell Taylor: John Lennon’s “Instant Karma (We All Shine On)

Paul Jolley: The Beatles’ “Nowhere Man

Devin Velez: Paul McCartney and Michael Jackson’s “Say Say Say

Categories: American Idol, Television, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

