American Idol – Awkward Turtle Alert!!

AMERICAN IDOL: Curtis Finch, Jr. CR: Michael Becker / FOX. Copyright: FOX.

Hey folks, you may be asking, what did I personally loved most about night? Well friends, it was seeing Curtis go. Yes, I have him at 6th in my pool so that hurt me a little but it’s a pain I’ll gladly endure! I know, it’s hard to pick a favorite thing of a night when Phillip Phillips performs, a surprising contestant came back for a chance at redemption and my Top 3 girls made the Top 3 (as if there was any doubt?). But seeing the judges not save Curtis after his swan song of “I Believe I Can Fly” made me very happy. I’m never really happy to see people go and have their Idol dreams dashed – especially when they probably aren’t expecting it, which I expect Curtis was not. I certainly wasn’t. And I have to say that he seemed a lot more reserved this second time around which I thought might help him out. Let’s all be real though, Curtis was never going to win, so what’s the real point of saving him? If you wanted someone worth saving, maybe you should’ve gone with Vincent Powell instead of Curtis? Alas, Curtis is gone and we soldier on!

Ok so, can I just say I was freaking SHOCKED to see the 2 contestants saved to compete for the Idol tour?

idolsave

I mean, Aubrey wasn’t totally surprising but I have to say I was expecting to see Big Crazy Barb walk out on stage. Why would I expect to see Big Crazy Barb? Well girl still has a pretty large twitter following and a lot of people were somewhat devastated to see her go (girl can put on a show, what can you say?). I was expecting it even more though, after seeing main man, King of the Awkward Turtles, Charlie Askew!?!? walk through those doors for the guys! Really? Really world? I mean, I’m ok with it but I was freaking SUPRISED! I don’t know who I thought it would be – maybe I was secretly hoping it would be Gupreet? I guess Charlie makes sense, though. The sympathy vote is a powerful thing.

As far as who I want to see on tour (which is basically a dumb statement because I’m not going to see the tour but let me digress) that’s a tough call. Aubrey is without a DOUBT the better singer. Hands down. And I think we can all agree that Charlie being on tour may not exactly be ideal for his mental health. But, Charlie puts on a better show. I mean, it’s not their decision at all as to who sings what so in that regard, Aubrey would probably be the better choice because the only thing she lacks is her ability to pick the right songs. I do like the song she picked last night but to be honest it was on the verge of dreadfully boring. Plus, Charlie can play the piano so he could always just do that on stage while everyone else is singing, no? So I guess ultimately, my vote is for my boy, Charlie. Sorry Aubrey, but if you’ll recall, Randy and Nicki already said they’d sign you, so you probably have a record deal as it is, anyway. Let Charlie have his moment this summer, and hope it doesn’t develop into a severe personality disorder because that’s the last thing I want for him.

As far as matters of the night, I don’t think there was a single person in the entire universe that was surprised by the Top 3.

AMERICAN IDOL: Angie Miller. CR: Michael Becker / FOX. Copyright: FOX.

Clearly well deserved and I hope they remain for many weeks to come, specifically when the Top 3 actually rolls around! They deserve it 100%. Speaking of Top 3, it should be noted that when looking at who the pool chose for their top 3, only a few people don’t have these girls at the top of their lists (although they do vary quite a bit). Interestingly enough the only other contestant to crack the Top 3 in the pool, is Burnell.

What did everyone think of them actually announcing a Top 3? I kind of loved it I have to say. All those demographic numbers are right up my alley! I love that kind of stuff, what can I say? I’m a numbers and charts kind of girl. I thought about switching up the pool that if you pick the correct Top 3, you get points also, but that’s just more work for me and I don’t think I’m prepared for that. Shall we take a look at the Pool Picks for this year? We have 5 new people playing so I’ll go over the points system one more time as well. And if you’re in the pool and you see this and something looks wrong with your list, just let me know! I’m happy to rectify any errors, and there always seem to be one or two in the first week.

Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 2.39.21 PM

So the way the scoring works is, if you pick the correct people in the bottom 3, you get 2 points per contestant. If you pick the right person to go home, you get 5 points. So the most bonus points you could get for the week is 9.

Picking the correct person to go home: 5 points
Picking the other correct bottom two:   4 points (2 points per person)
For a total of:                                      9 points

As for weekly points, everyone gets full points (10 points for your #1, 9 points for your #2, etc) as long as they aren’t in the bottom 3. If they’re in the bottom 3, they get half points. If they’re sent home, they get 0 points. That’s 0 as in zero, zilch, no points.

So, hopefully that doesn’t confuse you too much. If you want to see the spreadsheet just email me and I can send it to you! I’m happy to show off the glory of my work.

Now, as for how everyone faired, 2 people picked the right person to go home so Cheers to Susan and Leslie! Susan was the winner of the week though because she also had Devin in the bottom and Paul lower on her list. Here’s the breakdown of the scores for the week:

Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 2.32.32 PM

Renee, I wouldn’t go getting that trophy made anytime soon unless you want to write someone elses name on there 😉 haha.

Cheers to another successful week of Idol and I’ll see you folks next week!

**This Post was updated 3/16 to add Joann to the pool and to correct Bob A’s score! Sorry for the error folks!

Categories: American Idol, Television | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

