Guessing the Music of the Idols

I’m going to assume this means music of the winners and not “Music of people who have appeared on American Idol” but you never know with Idol. Their occasionally loose interpretation of the theme drives me mad sometimes. I did see that it would include songs they sang while competing on Idol so that opens it up just a little bit. It’s too bad it can’t just be people who’ve become Idols with the help of Idol because I’m sure there are a few that are pissed they can’t use Jennifer Hudson, Kellie Pickler or Colton Dixons (I’m looking at you Angie Miller) song choices.

Over 12 Idol winners, there have been literally hundreds of songs sung. Some better than others. I think if the contestants are smart they wouldn’t dare take on something like Kelly Clarksons “(You Make Me Feel) Like a Natural Woman” or Fantasia’s “Summertime” because they are just too iconic. Unless maybe if it’s a contestant of a different gender singing one of them, you just run too great a risk of being not only compared, but put down in comparison to the former idol. But there are certainly songs (many of them) that I think the current contestants could sing even better than the first Idol who sang them. I also don’t think they should play any of the “winning” songs ala Kelly Clarkson’s “A Moment Like This” – it’s a little pretentious.

It’s hard to make decisions on some, but super easy to make them on others. I don’t want to say “obviously” but I have to assume that Kree, Paul and Janelle will look at either Scotty McCreerys or Carrie Underwoods song list, I’ll be shocked if Curtis doesn’t go the way of Fantasia (although if he wants to prove how good he is, picking a Ruben Studdard number and doing it better, might work for him). The same goes for Candice although I could see she and Amber picking something from Jordin Sparks’ catalog. Devin and Lazaro are a bit of a toss up because really I just see them singing a ballad that someone sang, not necessarily a specific singer. I think it’s important for Lazaro to pick something he knows because he seems to maybe have a little trouble with lyrics when he doesn’t know the song ahead of time. I have a feeling Angie will go full Kelly Clarkson but she’s one of the few I could see picking something more original, like possibly something from Kris Allens song choices. Since Mr. Slezak picked a song that an Idol performed and one from their records, I’ll do that too. I mean, he’s MY American Idol (reviewer of choice)! I only wish I could see what Melinda Doolittle picked too!

Oh and in case you aren’t familiar with songs the Idols have come out with on their own, because I certainly wasn’t, I made this little cheat sheet:

1-5

 

Yeah, kind of a depressing list as far as their own original songs are concerned (although people like Phillip just need more than 1 cd). I mean, besides Kelly and Carrie (and the occasional random other songs), I really don’t know much about these folks post Idol, through no fault of my own. Maybe they would’ve made it “People who’ve had success post-Idol” instead of just Idol winners? At least they give us the chance to look at all the songs they sang on Idol as well, because that list is much more thorough. Without further adieu, here are my choices! I’m probably completely wrong as usual but it’s fun picking your own song choices!

Amber Holcomb

Original Song Choice – “No Air” by Jodin Sparks
Performance Song Choice – “Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours” covered by Fantasia and Ruben, or “”Fighter” (around 3:oo mark) covered by Jordin Sparks. I picked these because the second two are upbeat and I want to see you sing something a little faster and not a ballad. That’s probably going to be a trend for most of my picks tonight.

Angie Miller

Original Song Choice – “Behind These Hazel Eyes” by Kelly Clarkson
Performance Song Choice -“Hey Baby” covered by Jordin Sparks (which was terrible by Jordin, as I recall, but I think Angie could make it fun) or “Hallelujah” covered by Lee DeWyze because I know she likes songs aboug Jesus and I’d love to see her do this at the piano. It’s a beautiful arrangement.

Burnell Taylor 

Original Song Choice – “Breakaway” by Kelly Clarkson
Performance Song Choice – “You’re All I Need to Get By” covered by Kelly Clarkson

Candice Glover

Original Song Choice – “Miss Independent” by Kelly Clarkson
Performance Song Choice – “Give Me One Reason” covered by Jordin Sparks or “U Got it Bad” covered by Phillip Phillips.

Curtis Finch, Jr.

Original Song Choice – “I Believe” by Fantasia
Performance Song Choice – “Proud Mary” covered by Fantasia in her Audition, or “In the Midnight Hour” covered by Phillip Phillips.

Devin Valez

Original Song Choice – “Better With You” by Kris Allen
Performance Song Choice – “Falling Slowly” covered by Kris Allen (please do this!!) or “Smile” covered by Ruben Studdard or “You Are So Beautiful” performed by Taylor Hicks, which could be really interesting because he has such a different voice from Joe Cocker. I would love to see a very soft version of this song. It could be great. Yeah, I think that last one would be my pick for Devin.

Janelle Arthur

Original Song Choice – “Before He Cheats” by Carrie Underwood
Performance Song Choice – “Sin Wagon” or “Independence Day” covered by Carrie Underwood. I almost regret writing this though because Janelle is NO Carrie and I just don’t know if it’s a good idea to show that, or to sing something completely different from one of her performances.

Kree Harrison

Original Song Choice – “Jesus, Take the Wheel” by Carrie Underwood
Performance Song Choice – “Alone” covered by Carrie Underwood or “You’re Still the One” covered by Lee DeWyze

Lazaro Arbos

Original Song Choice – “Because of You” by Kelly Clarkson
Performance Song Choice – “Amazed” covered by Scotty McCreery or “Bless the Broken Road” by Carrie Underwood (around minute 5:38).

Paul Jolley

Original Song Choice – “Beautiful Like You” by Lee DeWyze
Performance Song Choice – “Chasing Cars” or “Fireflies” covered by Lee DeWyze (I can totally get a Lee vibe from Paul. I wonder if he plays the guitar? Probably not or we would’ve seen it by now, no?)

Yes, yes, I know it’s really super heavy on the Kelly Clarkson but she’s what I know, and she has the most albums to choose from! Give me a break. Girls been around for 12 years making music, and like, 4 of these people barely even have anything that could even be called a catalog of music (I’m looking at you Ruben, Taylor and Fantasia)! I was also surprised looking at Lee’s song choices from the show. He had a lot of good options for this years contestants which is funny to me because no one really sounds like he does, this season. He just made good original song choices, well, relatively original song choices.

Also I have to say, making this list, I miss having any kind of like, rock-ish contestant. I think they may’ve shy-ed away from it in order to focus on the girls. Maybe Janelle or Angie can turn into a bit of a rock star through this process? Or at least, rock-esque songs

Here’s Mr. Slezak’s picks (he’s obviously much more well versed than I am in this, but he also gets paid for it. haha):

Candice Glover: Carrie Underwood’s “Two Black Cadillacs”or “Beast of Burden” (covered by Lee DeWyze in S9)

Kree Harrison: Kris Allen’s “I Need to Know” or “Still Rainin’” (covered by Phillip Phillips in S11)

Amber Holcomb: Kelly Clarkson’s “I Do Not Hook Up” or “Wishing on a Star” (covered by Jordin Sparks in S6)

Janelle Arthur: Jordin Sparks’ “Tattoo” (acoustic version) or “She Works Hard for the Money” (covered by Kris Allen in S8)

Angie Miller: David Cook’s “Fade Into Me” or “Apologize” (covered by Kris Allen in S8)

Devin Velez: Kelly Clarkson’s “The Trouble With Love Is” or “Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” (covered by David Cook in S7)

Burnell Taylor: Fantasia’s “Bittersweet” or “Give Me One Reason” (covered by Jordin Sparks in S6)

Lazaro Arbos: Kelly Clarkson’s “Beautiful Disaster” or “Crying” (covered by Carrie Underwood in S4)

Curtis Finch Jr.: Jordin Sparks’ “Battlefield” or “A Fool in Love” (covered by Fantasia in S3)

Paul Jolley: Carrie Underwood’s “Undo It” or “Making Love Out of Nothing at All” (covered by Carrie Underwood in S4)

Categories: American Idol, Television | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

