Theme Nights 101

Ok so with the new season fully underway and theme nights just around the corner, I thought I’d give the Producers some thoughts on possible theme nights. Lots of other websites have put out their ideas, and I’m sure we have similarities/overlap but if nothing else, maybe this tells the producers that there are themes we really want to see, right? Since obviously I have the ear of the producers on the show. Haha.

My personal favorite themes so far are Year You Were Born (Adam Lambert singing Mad World), Personal Idols (Elise Testone singing Whole Lotta Love), Billboard #1s (MamaSox singing Me and Bobby McGee), Movie Soundtracks (JHud singing Circle of Life – ok I know  she sang that on Elton John night, but it’s a Movie Soundtrack so get over it).

The least successful for me, are when they go with specific artists (Mariah Carey, Neil Sedaka, Frank Sinatra), specific generes (Country, Motown, etc). I feel like certain contestants just lose interest and as a result, give terrible performances. There are exceptions to the rule though, of course (David Cook singing Always Be My Baby – swoon!).

Ok so with all that, here are my ideas for next season (thanks for my help thinking of ideas, friends):

OPTION 1

one-hit-wonders-iceman

After the success of Hit ‘Em Up Style on group night, I think One Hit Wonders deserve a little more love. Of course there are songs that have been done on Idol that happen to be one hit wonders, and I think a whole night of them could be a lot of fun. Here’s a little list of some possibilities:

  • Come on Eileen (the greatest one hit wonder, ever?)
  • What’s Up (a favorite karaoke song)
  • Never Gonna Give You Up (#IdolGetsRickRolled)
  • One Voice (I’m looking at you, Lazaro)
  • The Night the Lights Went out in Georgia (Hi Amber)

And there are hundreds more to chose from!

OPTION 2


grammy-award-2180c5ff1f64bce5

Obviously we have seen the Billboard #1’s, Popular on iTunes,  etc, so this would kind of be in the same vain. And the list of songs is AMAH-ZING. I could hear almost any one of them and be happy, but here’s a list of possibilities (minus Adele because yes, we all love her, but I’m sure the judges heard enough of her in the auditions).

  • We Are Young – Fun (this years Best Song)
  • Single Ladies – Beyonce
  • Viva La Vida – Coldplay
  • Not Ready to Make Nice – Dixie Chicks
  • Killing Me Softly – Roberta Flack (please sing this Candice)
  • Change the World – Eric Clapton

I will say I didn’t realize how many of the songs were ballads, but at least they’re all great songs!

OPTION 3

We-Are-Never-Ever-Getting-Back-Together

Break up songs. They’ve done love songs, they’ve done inspirational songs, I think this is the next logical progression. I realize I’m opening myself up to a myriad of ballads but as much as there are songs about Love, there are songs about that love ending and I think it could bring some really passionate performances. Sure, there are most likely people who haven’t gone through some serious break-up but you know what they say, you have to go through the pain to be an artist, right? Here are some ideas:

  • 90% of Taylor Swifts song catalog (they could even make her the mentor. She has a lot of experience)
  • Some kind of empowering break-up songs like Fighter or Survivor or Stronger
  • Cry Me a River (recently featured in the Beiber/Selena Gomez break-up)
  • Give You Hell
  • Since You’ve Been Gone
  • Somebody That I Used to Know
  • Barely Breathing
  • Forget You
  • Don’t Speak
  • Everybody Hurts
  • Go Your Own Way
  • Before He Cheats (Kree, I’m looking at you)
  • I Fall to Pieces
  • Love the Way You Lie
  • The Scientist (although I don’t know who would sing this, honestly I’d recommend a Coldplay night if I thought it could work)

Man the song ideas are just flowing out. This has to be a topic!! I mean, it could be depressing but it could also be fun and empowering and exciting! I mean, sometimes break-ups are a good thing, and songs about break-ups can be a great thing!

OPTION 4

music,christian,marclay,jim,morrison,mashup,vinyl,cover-9e23ae227b2283a8254df5da5f4629ea_h

I’m not going to say that mashups are the best idea for individual singers but if they went with some kind of theme night, I think they could be really fun. And really, they probably could do individual mashups if they picked the right songs. Or maybe used pre-established mash-ups like some of these options or maybe one of these:

[soundcloud url=”http://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/81761778″ params=”secret_token=0″ width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /

OPTION 5

1753069-boy-bands-boyz-II-men-backstreet-boys-n-sync-new-kids-617-409

I like the idea of a Boy Band/Girl Group because this is such a loose genre (since everyone from the Beatles to One Direction) can be sung. The same goes for girl groups. I dare say there are a lot more songs you can do with just girl groups. Even some kind of like, Girl Power night could be exciting! I also think you could see a lot of interpretation in these songs because there aren’t 4-5 voices singing, so you have to adapt and change up the song, hopefully in fun and exciting ways.

OPTION 6+

ClassicTracks_01

While I’m not a huge fan of specific artist nights, there are some artists I’m surprised they haven’t done. I know there are a lot that Glee have done and I wouldn’t want Idol to straight up copy them, but would a Madonna night be so terrible? Or a Britney night? Glee has done 2 of them. But even if you don’t want to do something that Glee has done, there are still a lot of artists to work with. Personally, I would love to see a Bob Dylan theme night, some kind of Timbaland or Jay-Z theme night, Beyonce, Kelly Clarkson, there’s a pretty decent list of performers they haven’t covered. Man I would really love to see a Dylan theme night though. If I had a choice, that’s what it would be.

So, those are my theme ideas. Oh, and if there could just be a “No Ballads” night, I’d really appreciate that as well!

Categories: American Idol, Television | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Theme Nights 101

  1. Pingback: Picking the The Oh-Kneed-Ers | baccalabloggala

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

