Ladies of Hollywood

Well, we’ve come back once more to celebrate all that is Group Night.

groupnight

Here are some things that tonights episode taught me, er, emphasized for me.

1. American Idol really wants a female winner this season (thank you Ryan Seacrest for shoving that in our faces – I’ve wanted a female winner since Haley Reinhart was on the show)*

2. Girls are more dramatic (ok maybe we already knew that)

3. It’s a bad idea to write lyrics on your hand.

4. Headbands are really big this season (I feel like there was a token headband girl in EVERY GROUP!)

* For emphasizing how much you WANT a girl winner this season, and how ah-mah-zing the girls are this season, I really only saw maybe 3 girls that I’d write home write in this blog about. Their names are Angela Miller, Rachel Hale and Brandy Hotard (and I suppose Candace Glover and Janelle Arthur since they’re clearly front runners). Ok well that is about 5 more than the guys, so maybe the Idol gods are onto something. They could certainly have the next Taylor Swift Carrie Underwood on their hands. Janelle even almost seems like a little mix of Kelly and Carrie, vocally.

The Firing Squad

Ok so for saying you had a lot of people to cut, I really didn’t see that. I mean, we saw you cutting people but didn’t really get any names and I’m terrible at remembering faces. Or maybe I’m too good since I feel like half the people I see remind me of somebody.

Safely making it through (and into my heart) are

Angela Miller (where have you been all my life?)
Victoria Acosta
Rachel Hale (Taylor Swift Sweetness – told you they were looking for a Taylor!)
Jenell Arthur (double-swoon. Lonesome whimper indeed)
Candice Glover
Isabelle (formerly Christine on the auditions, but still good in spite of the name change)
Ashley Feliciano
Melinda Ademi (she’s been on before – grouped with Thia Megia in Season 10)
Brianna Oakley
and Kez Ban.

My dear Kez Ban, as much as I truly enjoyed all the cheering you did for your fellow contestants, and your stellar audition in Chicago, I’m sorry to say I was not happy to see you go through on that performance, or your group performance. You just didn’t bring it. I guess maybe the judges see something in you that I’m missing, but… I’m missing it.

Not making it through were Megan Miller, Mariah Pulice, Ashley Smith (Blondie!! No!!), Ann Difani and Sarah “Super Bass” Restuccio.

screen-shot-2013-02-13-at-5-52-34-pm

And with that, it was group night. Can I just take a moment – Randy is tied up in the studio? Randy has another job? Sorry if I don’t believe that one! #sorrynotsorry I’ll just be thankful for some time without Randy (I’d hoped).

swaggettes

The Swagettes – Hit Em’ Up Style
Candice Glover, Kamaria Ousley, Melinda Ademi and Denise Jackson

If it was difficult for you to determine who won the night, um… yeah. Great song choice, great performance. I think this sums up my feelings towards the Swaggettes

nickmiller

As Mariah said “Swag On”. If this were X-Factor I’d demand they make you a group, and then I’d demand they release a CD, IMMEDIATELY.

raisin cain

Raisin’ Cain – Sin Wagon
Morgan Leigh Boberg, Lauren Mink, Brandy Hotard, and Girl #4

As good, in a completely different way, from the Swaggettes. I also have to say that I thought Brandy Hotard stood out as the CLEAR best in this group (she even stands out in the picture). Had they only kept her I would’ve been totally fine, but I’m ok with them keeping all four ladies. They deserved it.

I also wanted to mention a group that didn’t get a name, instead a mere snippet, but it featured Shubha Vedula, Sarina-Joi Crowe, and some girl named Aubrey. Great little group. Super happy Shubha is doing well!

And that was it time for the not so great groups…

The Dramatics – If I Die Young
Kriss Mincey, Janel Stinney, Cristabel Clack, and Girl #4

I don’t know how you all made it through because I thought this performance was close to awful. I’m only mentioning your group so high up in the review because I still think Cristabel Clack is worthy of a shout out. I really like your voice and your style, and your ability to even tolerate Janel without punching her in the face. Those crocodile tears… so over it. Did anyone notice that even Mariah eye-rolled Janel? That’s saying something. I was questioning why Nicki would praise her so highly but then I saw this tweet on her page and I feel like it all made sense…

Screen shot 2013-02-13 at 10.17.04 PM

Urban Hue – American Boy
Seretha Guinn, Tenna Torres, Kiara Lanier, and Girl #4

The only thing I wrote about this group was that I liked the tiny Asian girl.

The Dolly Chicks – Sin Wagon
Britnee Kellogg, Kree Harrison, Brandy Neelly, Haley Davis

Minus a one Haley Davis, I actually thought this group was really good, and it was nice to see Britnee Kellogg from last season. She was the one who gave up on her dream so she could support her douche husband and his basketball career.  The thing I hated about this group and was SHOCKED to see, was when Brandy Neelly was the one who went home and not the person of Nicki’s aggression – Haley Davis! A million times GRR! But speaking of people who suck/write lyrics on their hands, I thought I’d just gloss over all the horrible versions of Somebody That I Used to Know (was this the only crossover song from the boys group song choices?) Let’s get all the versions of this song out in one fell swoop shall we?

Somebody

Almost Famous – Savannah Votion, Lizz Weiss, Daysia Hall and J’Leigh Chauvin – I wasn’t as mad as Savannah that she got cut, but only because I thought the whole group should have been given the boot. And that comment can go for just about everyone that sang this song tonight, with a few exceptions.

Handsome Women – Shira Gavrielov, Alisha Dixon, Liz Bills, Courtney Calle – And as for Handsome Women, I was completely with the judges, writing that I thought only “the shoeless girl was worth keeping” – Kelly, FTW! And seriously Shira, I’m offended with myself for wishing you a top spot. God you and your high bun were obnoxious. No one in this show thinks you’re any sort of big deal for being a one hit wonder in Israel. Sorry for your luck.

For You –  Stephanie Schimel, Alex Delaney, Kalli Therinae, Holly Miller – I was with Stephanie, I don’t know how the judges kept you either. was Total Eclipse of the Heart THAT terrible of a song to perform? I also hate you all because you forced me to agree with RANDY! UGGHH

And for everyone that had the lyrics to this song written on your hands whose names may not have appeared but most likely got the boot – Take it from Nicki, DON’T WRITE LYRICS ON YOUR HANDS! BE PROFESSIONAL!

Ok, now to talk about the 2 groups that got twitter up in a huff!

First, lets talk about Big Crazy Barb (Zoanette Johnson – sorry I called you Zoanetta all last week. I’m calling you Big Crazy Barb from this point forward anyway), and her group, the Pooh Snaps. I’m not sure if it was my favorite group name of the night… Ok, it was. But people were more concerned with Big Crazy Barb than the rest of the Pooh Snaps (Erin Christine, Lauren Bettes, Isabelle).

Screen shot 2013-02-13 at 8.48.56 PM

I’m not going to claim that Big Crazy Barb is a good singer. Certainly not the best of the night, but is nothing if not entertaining, which I genuinely believe is the only reason she’s still on the show. I know, I wouldn’t have pegged her to go through Group Night in a million years but seeing who they were letting through and who they weren’t, I can’t say this move completely surprised me. One thing I was happily surprised to see was a little breakout from Erin Christine! Me likey!

The other person twitter was a-buzz for, the one and only KezBan! Like or hate her, people were talking about her. She was the only Idol related thing, trending on twitter last night! Also, for the record, the trending topic of #CandyHeartRejects is hilarious.

Screen shot 2013-02-13 at 8.45.22 PM

And I must say, it looks like she has quite the following (and yes, I am not following this person on twitter, if you’re interested, you can too)

Screen shot 2013-02-13 at 8.29.14 PM

The Misfits (one of the most apropos names of the night) – Be My Baby (Guess Kez Ban didn’t fight to the death after all)
Kez Ban, Breanna Steer, Angela Miller, Janelle Arthur

Seeing them all talking prior to their performance, I kept thinking this group would be terrible, ignoring the fact that they had Angela and Janell as contestants. Boy was I wrong. Terrible performance, kind of. But terrible voices, no. Definitely not. Angela Miller and Janelle Arthur proved that they are shining stars! They’re definitely two of my top favorites of the night. Kez Ban, not so much, but I’m holding out hope for you, you crazy whack-a-doo!

And that’s that! We move onto tonight. Which might not be posted right away depending on whether or not my hubs has Valentine’s Day plans for us. Time will tell 😉

Categories: American Idol, Television | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

