Sweet Corn Ice Cream

My husband and I are really lucky when it comes to fresh produce. Well, kind of lucky. See, his best friend Cory owns the Crows Nest farm, down on the Eastern Shore of Maryland (that’s why we’re not lucky – because it’s 2.5 hours from our house). The great part, is that he grows the BEST corn! Seriously. It’s no joke. He grows other things too but the corn is like, the crown jewel of the farm. We try to grab some every year but this year we decided to go ALL OUT. We bought 2 bushels of corn. For those unaware, a bushel is around 5 dozen. It looks a little something like this –

Then, we went through and shucked, bagged and froze all that corn (and gave some out to our wonderful helpers, thanks family!). If I can make any kind of recommendation, it’s that after you cut the corn off using a large knife, go through and scrape down the ears to make sure you get all the delicious juice and “meat” of the corn cob. You’ll end up with what looks like kind of a creamed corn consistency. I used a grapefruit spoon because it has nice jagged edges. A small serrated steak knife would work really well also.

It took us about 5 – 6 hours with 6 people shucking, and 2 people cutting/bagging until the wee hours of the morning. Each bag as around 2-3 ears worth of corn.

We have over 52 bags of sweet corn (and that’s after giving away about 10 bags) which is great because it means we can have fresh corn at LEAST once a week. It’s really glorious! It makes our freezer a little crowded, but it’s glorious none the less.

Anyway, with all this corn we’ve been trying to come up with some clever ideas. My favorite idea came to me like a bolt of lightening. I was looking at all the frozen corn and just kept thinking – this would make an amazing ice cream. And thus, an idea was born.

I took to Pinterest, as I always do to get some ideas – here, here, here and here. However, I ended up using none of these. I remembered back to a few months ago when Zack and I made our last ice cream. This little blog entry on Kevin & Amanda is like a god send. Minimal ingredients, lots of suggestions, it’s great. I must say that for me, the fewer ingredients, the better, in my opinion.

We actually doubled her recipe and used 4 cups of heavy cream and 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk (I used fat free), and my personal ingredient of 2 bags of corn. It looked like a little too much corn so I actually ate a few large bites until it looked like I had around 3ish shaved down ears of corn. It doesn’t get any easier than that.

I will say that I wish I’d mashed up the corn a little bit. I wouldn’t have minded a few whole kernels but I think that had we mashed it up, it would’ve given it a slightly better consistency. Alas. For next time. I think we have enough corn for another batch. And it made a TON of ice cream. Well, maybe not a ton, but 2 full 2-quart gladware containers. Zack and I have each had 2 servings and haven’t even finished the first container. Yeah, you know us, full of self control! It was truly amazing though. The corn flavor with the sweetness of the condensed milk… it was delicious. I could’ve easily drank it as a soup before it even froze. Ok I did. Fiiiiiiine. Sorry, I admit it. And it was delicious. De-freaking-licious.

The hardest part is waiting the “overnight” they tell you to wait. We waited about 4 hours and dove in. The middle wasn’t exactly set, but it was still awesome. I can’t wait to eat more of it tonight!

Whipped Heavy Cream

 

Sweet Corn and Sweetened Condensed Milk Mixture
(totally acceptable to drink)

 

Combining All Ingredients

Ready to Enjoy!
mmmmmm…..

The Crows Nest farm doesn’t have a website unfortunately because well, they’re tiny. However if you’re interested in procuring said corn next year at harvest time (usually early July), feel free to contact the lady of the house, Jen. She’ll be happy to help you out! They are located near Allen, MD which is a suburb of Salisbury.

Categories: Fun Stuff, Recipes | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sweet Corn Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Sweet Corn Funnel Cakes « baccalabloggala

  2. Pingback: Sandy Snacks « baccalabloggala

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

