Cauliflower Bites

The other night was one of those little miracles that comes together for a meal. My husband was out and I had to fend for myself for dinner. Usually that’s exciting because I can eat whatever I want without wondering if it’s something he would like. The problem when I eat by myself is that I have too many options in my brain and can’t make a decision.  When left to my own devices I’m a horrible decision maker. Especially food decisions. I also had a milkshake in the late afternoon that had me full well past 7:00. I knew I needed to eat something though, preferably something light. I had cauliflower (already cooked and mashed) that was going to go bad if I didn’t use it so I got to thinking and came up with what I would call a gem!

So, remember when I made the cauliflower pizza crust? This was an incredibly similar recipe. In fact, it was almost identical except that instead of making it into a crust, I made them into bites akin to mozzarella sticks. They were fantastic!

For this recipe,  the ingredients are exactly the same as the cauliflower pizza crust, but halved.

For a refresher – here it is

2 cups of cooked mashed cauliflower (usually half a head of cauliflower)
1 large egg
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon dried garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion salt

Add to this recipe a half cup of italian fine breadcrumbs.

The recipe is very simple and only requires a few steps

First you want to cook cauliflower and mash, and drain the excess water (a fine strainer should work and if you don’t have that, you can use a paper towel or 5) If you’re curious how to cook the cauliflower, here’s the website I used when learning the proper techniques, and I straight up boiled my cauliflower since I don’t have a steamer.

Then you want to combine all ingredients, except the breadcrumbs. You’ll have this lovely little mixture.

You then want to roll out the cauliflower into bite sized balls a little smaller than a golf ball. As you roll them out, place them into the breadcrumbs and give them a good coating. I like to do this all with one hand so that I can have another clean hand in case I need anything. They’ll assemble to look something like this

I was able to make about 20 cauliflower bites with this recipe. Once you have them all set up on your foil lined baking sheet (not a necessity but something I’m crazy about and always do), pop those suckers in the oven for about 25-30 minutes, they’ll start to get a nice brown toasty color on top and that’s when you’ll know they are done.

While the bites were cooking I whipped up a small batch of marinara sauce, using oregano and basil fresh from my garden (man do I love being able to say that! Can’t wait until I can say I used fresh tomatoes from my garden too!) You can always use pre-made marinara sauce. I won’t judge you… to your face…

When all was said and done I popped them onto a plate, poured the marinara sauce in the middle and sprinkled on some parmesan cheese and added some turkey pepperoni for some protein, and voila!

Way healthier than mozzarella sticks but the same amount of satisfaction! Enjoy!

Categories: Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

