Spinach Meat(less)balls

As promised, I’m finally here with my recipe for the Spinach bites I made for my sisters wedding. With a slight modification this time, but pretty much the same.

This time though, instead of an appetizer, I used them as a meatball substitute. I like most Italian things, and I like most meats, but two things I’m not a fan of – are meatballs and meatloaf. So instead of making spaghetti and meatballs last night, I made spaghetti and spinach balls!

And they were as delicious as the first time I made them. I also made the same large recipe as I did the first time and froze half. Here’s hoping they hold up! So without further adieu, here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

4 cups of grated cauliflower
1 bag frozen spinach
1/4 – 1/2 cup of shredded parmesan cheese (I just used a handful or so)
2 eggs (or 3 egg whites)
1/2 cup of bread crumbs (I use panko)
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1 heaping teaspoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon Italian Seasoning
1/4 cup of melted butter, unsalted
dash of salt and pepper
3-4 slices of bacon, finely chopped (optional)

Directions

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.

Putting this recipe together is pretty straight forward.  First, you cook the cauliflower and spinach. The spinach, as directed on the bag, and most importantly, DRAINED! The cauliflower, you just throw in the microwave with no water, and cook it on high for 6 minutes. Then you want to combine those two ingredients, with all of the remaining ingredients, stirring as you add the ingredients. As for the bacon, I only added them to half the balls because I had to convince my husband to try them and you have to throw bacon into anything that has spinach, or it’s a losing battle. So that’s what I did.

You want to ball these guys up, to about golfball size (it’s ok if the mixture is a little wet). If anything go smaller but not bigger. About this size… haha. Also notice I lined the pan with aluminum foil. I always do this for anything I’m cooking on a cookie sheet. Always.

Cook them for about 20 minutes but watch them because sometimes they go longer. You want them to have a nice brownish twinge to them, kind of like this:

And that’s it. Nice healthy spaghetti toppings! I hope you enjoy them!

Categories: Recipes, Sunday Dinner | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

