What if the theme was Glee/2010+

So, last night was finally a new episode of probably my favorite show since LOST ended. Oddly it’s a show that couldn’t be more different from LOST (maybe excluding all the love triangles). Luckily, it’s not that different from Idol which is why it’s totally cool to talk about it on this blog. The show is Glee. I know, you’re all shocked. Also, most of you know me so you already knew this and are wondering why I’m wasting a paragraph.

Anyway, in honor of this weeks Idol theme (songs from 2010+) and Glee being new, I thought I’d imagine a land where Glee and American Idol were one in the same. In theory they’re actually very simple. Every week on Glee they cover various themes, both people (Idol had Billy Joel night, Glee had Madonna night, just as an example). Often on Glee they are auditioning for various parts/roles, and I think we all know that Idol is just one giant Audition. I’m just a little surprised (since they’re on the same network), that there hasn’t been any crossover. So, here on this blog, lets cross that bridge. I thought of two ways, and since they’re both awesome, we’ll check out both of them.

Theme 1 – Songs Glee has done (from 2010+) that they could do on Idol

This was the easier and more fun of my options. So that’s what I’ll start with. There have been 40 songs performed on Glee that were released in 2010 or sooner. Some have been sung before, some have been sun this season. But the list is 40 songs. I even included a couple of Glee originals (not all of them because who’s going to sing “My Headband” or “Trouty Mouth” ?). Anyway,

Here’s the list of songs.

Rumour Has It / “Someone Like You” – Adele

Run the World (Girls) -Beyoncé

Just the Way You Are – Bruno Mars

Marry You – Bruno Mars

Forget You – Cee Lo Green

Without You – David Guetta feat. Usher

Somebody That I Used to Know – Gotye feat. Kimbra

Stereo Hearts – Gym Class Heroes feat. Adam Levine

Empire State of Mind – Jay-Z feat. Alicia Keys

Somebody to Love – Justin Bieber

Baby – Justin Bieber feat. Ludacris

Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.) – Katy Perry

Teenage Dream – Katy Perry

Firework – Katy Perry

I Kissed a Girl – Katy Perry

Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You) – Kelly Clarkson

Tik Tok – Kesha

Need You Now – Lady Antebellum

Born This Way – Lady Gaga

Telephone – Lady Gaga feat. Beyoncé

Sexy and I Know It – LMFAO

I Follow Rivers – Lykke Li

Misery – Maroon 5

Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5 feat. Christina Aguilera

Sing – My Chemical Romance

Animal – Neon Trees

Get It Right – New Directions

Loser Like Me – New Directions

Fly  – Nicki Minaj feat. Rihanna

The Only Exception – Paramore

Raise Your Glass – Pink

Perfect – Pink

Friday  – Rebecca Black

Umbrella – Rihanna feat. Jay-Z

We Found Love – Rihanna feat. Calvin Harris

Glad You Came – The Wanted

Red Solo Cup – Toby Keith

Hey, Soul Sister – Train

Billionaire – Travis McCoy feat. Bruno Mars

Cough Syrup – Young the Giant

And here’s the list of 7 contestants we have left right now on Idol:

Colton Dixon

Elise Testone

Hollie Cavanaugh

Jessica Sanchez

Joshua Ledet

Phil Phillips

Skylar Laine

 

There are certain songs the contestants shouldn’t touch because really they’re just held in too high regard in their Glee version (specifically the Rumor Has It/Someone Like You mash up) So what would I have these contestants sing? As always, some came to me right away, some took me a minute. I actually saw a few that I’d like to see booted contestants sing (Case in point – I think DeAndre could probably do “Hey, Soul Sister!” really well). I’ll just go alphabetically down the list.

First we’ve got Colton. He was one I could see right away. I think his ideal songs choices from this list would be “Billionaire” by Travis McCoy f. Bruno Mars, or “Sing” by My Chemical Romance. He’d do well to sing “Billionaire” though because he’s not going to sing “Sing” better than they sang it on Glee. I’d put money on it. That being said, I’d put money on him not singing either of these songs, anyway. Haha.  Actually, epiphany time – I forgot about this song because I don’t know it very well, but I think Colton could kill “Animal” by Neon Trees. And actually, there was a song on Glee last night “Somebody that I Used to Know” by Gotye feat. Kimbra, that he could probably also sing really well. Colton has the opportunity to have a very good week this week.

Next we’ve got Elise. I love Elise’s raspiness. It makes me so happy. There are a lot of songs on this list that I think she could sing really well but I narrowed it down to two, “Raise Your Glass” by Pink, “Stonger” by Kelly Clarkson. I think the latter would be a stretch for her vocals but she needs some redemption after last week and I think she has to prove herself just a little bit. Ok I can’t resist throwing in a third because maybe what she needs is to just get down with her bad self and sing “Forget You”.

Hollie is another lady that needs a little redemption this week and I think her voice gives her a lot of options from this song list. The song that immediately stuck out to me for Hollie was Paramoures “The Only Exception”. It’s a really sweet song that I genuinely love. I think Hollie can do that one a lot of justice.

As for Jessica, well she can pick anything by Gaga, Katy Perry, Beyoncé, Adele, I’m relatively convinced she can do it all at this point. However, the song I’m going to pick for Jessica is the Lady Gaga/ Beyoncé duet, “Telephone”.  I think with that she can flex some vocal muscles on that one and it’s a fun song to sing. It can challenge her lower register too.

There’s only one song on this entire list that I could really see Joshua singing and it’s the Bruno Mars ditty “Just the Way You Are”. With no black choir boy males, and because Mercedes only seems to sing songs written earlier than 1985, there’s not a lot on this list for him. I think this might be a tough week for him in general. He could surprise me though.

I have some really unique ideas for Phillip. For some reason I just think it would be great to see him sing Beiber’s “Baby”. The same goes for “Sexy and I Know it” by LMFAO, but that’s only because he is. Haha. I don’t know why I want him to sing Beiber. Maybe because it’s kitsch?  Realistically though, there’s a slower cover of “Stereo Hearts”, that’s really slow and sweet, heavy on the guitar, that I think Phillip could sing really well. It’s probably more his style too.

Finally, we have Skylar. I know the obvious is the Lady Antebellum song. HOWEVER, I think the more obvious for Skylar would be either Lady Gaga’s “Born this Way” or anything on the list by Kelly Clarkson. She had to deal with Randy comparisons, which is why I feel like she probably wouldn’t sing anything by her, but I’m not going to say it’s totally out of the question.

Realistically, they probably won’t sing any of these songs, but it’s fun for a girl to dream of a “Glee” theme on Idol. It baffles me that there’s not more crossover between shows. I mean, they used to be on right after the other. Come on FOX! Make my dreams come true…

Categories: American Idol, Television | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

