Easter Favorite

Easter is probably the most lackluster of the holidays we celebrate in our household. My parents have gone out of town for the last few years, to visit my little brother, my sister is in Wisconsin still, and my husbands family were visiting relatives in Virginia, so we took the opportunity to have a nice calm Easter at home… doing yard work. I know, you’re jealous. The yard looks nice though so that’s good. And the weather, well, we couldn’t have asked for better!

We also usually make lamb for Easter but this year, since it was just the two of us and we had some ribs we needed to cook, so we went with that instead. One tradition that I will never pass up though, is my grandmothers Pineapple Stuff. I make it every year. Some people call it a bread pudding, some call it a stuffing and others call it a casserole. We just call it stuff. Delicious stuff.  I thought since it’s my favorite thing to eat for Easter dinner, next to Cadbury eggs, I would share it with you. I don’t have a recipe for Cadbury eggs, unfortunately. And I didn’t even eat one this year. Oh well. Here’s the recipe!

Ingredients:

1 large can of crushed pineapple
2 eggs
1 stick of melted unsalted butter
1 cup of sugar
1 cup of cream
8 slices of lightly toasted (or slightly stale) white bread, cubed.

IMPORTANT INGREDIENT NOTES:

Some notes about the recipe since my grandma was making it. First, the “cream” is flexible. I’ve always used what I have on hand. Skim milk, 2%, half and half, heavy and light cream, and my personal favorite, creamer. Specifically, the flavor called “sweet cream”. It’s wonderful. Bread is also a flexible ingredient. And white bread is most definitely not my favorite. I’ve experimented a lot with this. I still included white bread in the ingredients because that’s grandmas recipe, but it’s one ingredient that needed some tinkering. I tried potato rolls (3), a container of cooked Pillsbury croissants (my least favorite), half a loaf of French bread (which is a close second for my favorite, and what I used tonight) and finally English Muffins, which is the best option. It just holds up the best in the cooking process. Even toasting the white bread, it still kind of gets lost in the mushy goodness of the casserole. Using the English muffins is just the best texture and it holds up really well to the liquid in the rest of the ingredients, so that’s my personal preference.

Directions:

It’s basically 3 easy steps (after pre-heating the oven to 400, and greasing a 9×9 pan – preferably glass).

1. Cube up and lightly toast the bread

2. In a large bowl, combine all of the liquid/semi-solid ingredients (this means everything except the bread).

3. Layer the ingredients – bread, pineapple mixture, bread, pineapple mixture. The pineapple mixture should be last and should completely coat the top. If you find yourself at the top of your casserole with some dry bread sticking out, just mix it up with a spoon until all the bread is coated with the pineapple mixture. It’ll look a little something like this:

That’s it. Then you just pop it into the oven for around 30 minutes. You want a nice crust on top though so sometimes I leave it in a little longer (I wouldn’t leave it in any longer than 45 minutes). You’ll end up with something that looks like this, if you did everything right:

I hope you enjoy it. Oh and I also got myself and the house some tulips, so we could at least have a little Easter feeling to the house. Is there any flower that says “Easter” more than tulips? I think not. Happy Easter everyone!

Categories: Grandmoms Recipes, Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

