What’s up for 80s Night?

If ever there was a week where it was difficult to chose a song for everyone to sing, it would be this week. It’s one thing to pick from a songbook, or a year you were born, but an entire decade? That’s hundreds of songs. Probably thousands. Even if you just said “#1 songs from the 80s” it’s still a huge list.

Another small problem is that in the 80s, I was mostly listening to the radio station my mom listened to, which was Oldies, 100.3. which would play songs from the 50s and 60s. That’s right, I probably know more about songs from either of these eras, than the 80s. I even got made fun of in elementary school when my favorite songs were “Sweet Pea” by Tommy Roe or “Lola” by the Kinks. They’re still fantastic songs by the way. I was also a really big Beatles fan.

And to make matters worse, most of the music I know from the 80s is from TV shows, movies (The Wedding Singer and Romy & Michele), playing songs while I was in marching band that were from the 80s, and various other pop culture references. I didn’t really start following my own musical path until the early 90s when the guy I liked was really into Green Day and I discovered a little radio station called WHFS.

So long story short, I know who was around, I know a fair amount of songs from the 80s but I’m no whiz when it comes to this era. When Michael Slezak did his own version of this, I didn’t even know half the songs he picked. He and I have a very similar taste in music so I was pretty surprised, but crazier things have happened. We definitely had a few he was dead on with me though. Figures we would agree on our mutual favorites. Well, on my favorites.

So, instead of making my own choices, I’ll just pick which Slezak song I want (unless there’s someone I have a specific song idea for anyone)

 

Hollie Cavanagh:

The Go-Go’s “Head Over Heels”
Dream Academy’s “Life In A Northern Town“

I don’t know either of these songs, very well. I was thinking that a great song for her to sing would be “Nothing Compares to You” by Sinead O’Connor, but it came out in 1990. Boooo. If I have to pick a Slezak pick I’d go with “Life in a Northern Town”. The Wedding Singer fan in me wants her to sing “99 Luftballons”

Jessica Sanchez:

When in Rome’s “The Promise”
Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam’s “Head To Toe“

Again, I don’tk now these songs. I kind of know “Head to Toe” but not really. I just think more Whitney when I think Jessica, but she really doesn’t want to overdo it. I mean, save it for when you’re in the Top 3 (if you make it to the top 3). Since neither of Slezaks picks screamed Jessica to me, I’m going with the idea of Debbie Gibson, “Only in my Dreams” – how about them apples? Yeah. It’s typical isn’t it? I still think it would be pretty cool.

Elise Testone:

Whitesnake’s “Here I Go Again”
Don Henley’s “Dirty Laundry”
Joe Jackson’s “Steppin’ Out“

Finally with Elise, some songs I know! Not going to lie, I love the idea of Elise singing “Here I Go Again”. I don’t want to think of anything else because I love that pick.

Skylar Laine:

Martika’s “Toy Soliders”
Guns ‘N Roses’ “Sweet Child of Mine”
Tiffany’s “All This Time“

I hate the “Toy Soldiers” song. I definitely like the “Sweet Child of Mine” pick but I kind of like the idea of Skylar slowing it down. It’s definitely time for her to take a risk and wow people but at the same time I don’t know if a slow song is the way to wow people. While “All the Time” could be that song, I just don’t know if that’s the way to go.

Colton Dixon:

Night Ranger’s “Sister Christian”
Crowded House’s “Don’t Dream It’s Over“

I love both of these picks so much. So so much. I think Colton could be great at both of these. I’m not a huge fan of his but I think if he sang “Don’t Dream it’s Over” well, I might fall madly in love with him. Same for “Sister Christian” really. I was actually thinking something a little more Bowie-esque. As much as I would’ve thought Adam Lambert had done some Bowie on his run, David Bowie has never been played on the Idol stage. I was thinking something like “China Girl” or maybe a David Bowie cover with “Working Class Hero”. I think any of these songs could be good. And since we all know Colton has his own style, I doubt he’ll pick anything that any of us know.

Phillip Phillips:

INXS’ “Need You Tonight”
Bruce Springsteen’s “I’m On Fire”
Eurythmics’ “Here Comes The Rain Again“

I definitely love the Slezak picks for Phillip too. I think all 3 are on fire. I don’t love the Springsteen pick but I love the idea of him singing Springsteen. That being said, I think he could have an Adam Lambert “Mad World” moment if he sings “Here Comes the Rain Again”.

Joshua Ledet:

Yaz’s “Situation”
Tracy Chapman’s “Fast Car“

Maybe it’s because I don’t like Joshua but nothing comes to mind of what I’d like to hear him sing. I do know these songs but I don’t really see him singing either of these that well. I guess time will tell as to what he does sing but this isn’t my idea of what he should sing.

DeAndre Brackensick:

Kajagoogoo’s “Too Shy”
Fine Young Cannibals’ “She Drives Me Crazy”
Quarterflash’s “Harden My Heart“

I don’t know the “Harden my Heart” song but I do know the other two and mostly because it’s on the Wedding Singer soundtrack, I’ll say that I hope he sings “Too Shy”. Maybe the theme should just be “Songs from the Wedding Singer”. There are well over 30 songs associated with the movie. It’s definitely doable. I would’ve liked that more I think. That’s a theme I can get behind.

Categories: American Idol, Television | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

