Sweet Turnotoes

I know, that’s a made up word. I didn’t know what else to call these. Any guesses what this might be? Well, let me tell you in case you were wondering.

I was really excited to try this recipe because… dun dun dun… I’ve never had a turnip in my life. My gramma used to make them at Thanksgiving, those and parsnips, but I never tried either of them because I was little and didn’t understand why people would eat things with weird names. Anyway, because I’ve been wanting to try things I haven’t tried before, I thought it was a good idea to get to gettin’ on the turnip train.

This seemed like the perfect recipe because it already included two things I did like – sweet potatoes (a favorite) and carrots, which I have nothing against. The recipe was also really simple which is perfect on a Monday because no one wants anything complicated when you’ve spent 9 hours at work after being off for 2 glorious days!

So here’s how the recipe goes…

Ingredients: 

2 sweet potatoes
3 turnips
3 carrots

Seasonings:

2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp sage
3 cloves of garlic
1 small onion

Basically, you peel all the ingredients that need peeling and chop them up into 1 inch cubes, and toss them into a pot of water. Bring it to a boil and let it simmer for around 15 minutes, until the veggies are fork tender.

In a separate skillet, you want to heat up the seasoning. Onion and garlic first until the onion is translucent, then add the butter and sage. After a few minutes it should be ready to go.

Drain the veggies and put them back into the pot and add the sage-y garlic butter. Then get to mashing with whatever your favorite mashing device may be. We have a masher that does the trick.

And that’s it! We ate it with some bbq chicken from the grill, because it’s that time of year! This is what we ended up with (I forgot to get a picture with the touch of extra bbq sauce I added but trust me when I say it was awesome sauce).  Our bbq sauce here, is a very special thing. It probably deserves it’s own post based on how much we cook with it. Mermaid BBQ sauce was created by our friend Scott. It’s possibly the greatest thing ever created by someone we know. We actually have a case of it on hand at almost all times, just in case. I’ve also got all my friends/family/co-workers/people on the street, completely hooked. It’s so magical it’s almost hard to describe. I’ve given out free bottles just to get people to try them. I’m like a walking infomercial.

“Seriously, try this sauce. if you don’t like it, you don’t have to pay me for it” And for the record, everyone has paid me for it. And if you want it, just contact Scott. It’s $8 per bottle and worth every single penny!

Categories: Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

