Mexican Stew and Rice

My husband and I tried a new recipe tonight and I thought I’d share it with you lovely people. It’s a crock-pot recipe which in my language means “super-easy”.

Here’s what you’ll need:

2-3 lbs of London Broil (although I’m gonna experiment with some other meats because this was a little on the tough side. I wish it would’ve been able to be shredded)
2 tablespoons of taco seasoning
2 tablespoons of olive oil
1 large yellow onion, roughly chopped
1 large can of stewed tomatoes
1 small can of tomato paste
1 cup of water
2 regular sized cans of pinto beans, rinsed (black beans would also work)
1 package of yellow rice… or “Arroz Amarillo” if you’re Goya

And here’s how you make it:

You start by rubbing the meat in one of the tablespoons of taco seasoning.  Put it in a skillet and brown the outside of the meat for a minute or two. Trust me when I say, THIS IS THE MOST IMPORTANT STEP. It really locks in the flavor into the meat. You’ll regret it if you skip this step I promise.

Once the meat is browned on all sides, stick it to the side and get out your crock pot. Put in the  water first, and half the stewed tomatoes. Then add the meat, the rest of the tomatoes, and onion. Finally toss in the extra taco seasoning and put a lid on it and let it cook on high heat for around 3 hours. You can let it go longer but I wouldn’t go any longer than 4 depending on the type of meat you use.

At this point you want to take out your roast and chop it up into bite-sized pieces. While the meat is out, add the pinto beans, and the tomato paste. Stir everything up, and put the meat back in and give it one final stir to coat the meat in the sauce. Then let it cook another 30 minutes.

Finally, cook the rice as directed on the packaging. When the rice is done, the stew will be too. Heap a big pile of rice in the middle of a shallow bowl and then throw the stew on top.

Hope you like it!


 

Categories: Recipes, Sunday Dinner | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Mexican Stew and Rice

  1. Jessi

    Mmm. Looks good! I wish I had a crockpot. 🙂 I don’t know why I don’t. This looks like it would probably be good with some shredded chicken.

  2. An amazing article, thanks for the writing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

