American Idol – Savannah

Is it just me or would it have been completely more convenient of them to start this show in 2000? I really think it should be AI 12. I feel like it’s been on 20 years anyway. haha. All those damn kids saying they’ve watched since they were in the womb… jerks.

Being that we aren’t to Hollywood week and we get to see so many contestants, I only wrote down my favorite people and some observations. I think it was quite a nice change of pace that they kept most of the horribles in a few sweet little montage packages instead of making that the entire show like days of yore, where you didn’t meet the good contestants until what seemed like the middle of Hollywood week. I hate getting that far and thinking “Who are these people and where have they been all my life?” Personally, I think they do this because Simon isn’t on anymore and no one is funny/mean enough to show (RIP Idol Simon). I believe they had bad enough contestants but really the meanest thing they said to anyone was when that girl from Ohio who had allegedly sang the national anthem at games (little league games? nursing homes? schools for the deaf? LIES!). It was just crickets and then Randy blurts out “Awful” – couldn’t have said it better myself, sir. I definitely didn’t hear any “Liddy, go jump back up your mother” 

And speaking of Randy, props to him and his lack of “yo yo yo dawg”. Far be it from me to believe he won’t bring it back, because I know he will (I think he saves those gems for the live show), but I can appreciate a “dawg” free show as much as the next girl! Keep ’em coming!

So as far as favorites, I had 4 from this episode.

Let’s start with Ashlee “joy hopper” Altise – talk about fun! I love a little crazy in my contestants! And I thought she quasi-killed “Come Together”. I always think the Doors sing that song and then my husband gets mad at me because we have the Beatles Rock Band and we always laugh at how bizarre the lyrics actually are and you don’t really realize it until you play rock band. At least we didn’t. Maybe that’s why I forget the Beatles sang it… do yourselves a favor though and google those lyrics. **sidenote**Here’s a little Wikipedia gem about the song that make the lyrics seem a little less crazy – It has been speculated that each verse refers cryptically to each of The Beatles (e.g. “he’s one holy roller” allegedly refers to the spiritually inclined George Harrison; “he got monkey finger, he shoot Coca-Cola” to Ringo, the funny Beatle; “he got Ono sideboard, he one spinal cracker” to Lennon himself; and “got to be good-looking ’cause he’s so hard to see” to Paul) But I digress… back to Ashlee, I like you chicka. Let’s hope that you’re legitimately the right kind of crazy like the judges think you are.

Third place for my favorite was the girl whose dad was a baseball player… Shannon Magrane (thanks Google!) That guy must have an interesting life. I bet him and Bruce Jenner have a lot in common what with all those girls in the house! And all under 15. ugh. Her tryout reminded me of Lauren Alaina’s tryout last year without the obsessive flirting (she left that to Crazy Eyes that was on later). Unfortunately for Shannon she wasn’t the best of my favorites. Not to say she won’t be able to make it but I already believe there are people better than her. She does have the confidence that others might not have so maybe she can push past the others.

So moving on to my favorite lady of the evening, Lauren Mink. I hate hearing backstories sometimes because really I don’t think how they are raised, what they do, or how poor they are, should have anything to do with whether they can sing, but her job is one of those that I genuinely admire. Working withe special needs adults can be a difficult job but to me it seems like one of the most rewarding difficult jobs that’s out there. She seems to have the spirit in her that I love about genuine people. That all being said, I do believe her voice was good enough no matter her backstory, so in that regard I’m ok with knowing where she comes from. I’m definitely a sucker for a female country singer as one can tell by my ipod but to me she had it all. At least tonight.

Finally, and I think we can all agree, the guy with one of the worst names in the world (because really who does that to their children, besides someone whose parent did it to them…) Phillip Phillips, Jr. killed Thriller. Ah-mazing. Saving the best for last was an understatement for this episode. I actually thought by the commercials he was going to be terrible and when I heard his name well, forgive me but I judged the book by its horribly named cover… my nose dived back into my computer thinking listening would be bad enough and watching was barely worth it… but then I heard the guitar… my ears perked… I heard the intro lyrics… what pinterest? Later, later…  I was mesmerized. A new Dave Matthews to love and adore? Yes please! I can’t even remember the other song he sang because once he took that guitar out, well folks, that’s what the French call Le Panty Melter. God he was so good. So good. I just hope he’s not a one trick pony with Thriller. Fingers crossed!

Way to end the show and start the season Mr. Faceless Producers. Way to go.

So what did everyone else think??  If you’re looking for more examples of some of the favorites, I found this on USAToday. Enjoy!

Categories: American Idol, Television | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

